Countdown


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Feng Tai District
June 14th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

BasinBasinBasin

Every day I walk home and my students pass me on their way home from school. Their parents or grandparents line up outside with their bicycles but this student by far has the best ride home. His grandfather who is probably in his eighties is peddling on the other side.

Countdown

 Asia » China » Beijing » Feng Tai District By photobug
June 14th 2007
Trisha Shadwell
I am finished at the primary school! Now all I have is the middle school. My open classes went okay. Every one seemed to enjoy them. I am not sure why but I always feel like I could have done better. But I am really sad to be leaving them. They are sooo cute. On the last day they all had me sign their books and give them my telephone number. One girl was so funny she kept saying in your free time you will come and visit me.

Funny story from open class: The word was round. I asked who can use round in a sentence.
Students: the earth is round, the sun is round, and my head is round. The football is round.
Me: The Football is round? No. A football is like a squashed egg. Ohhhh No you are right the soccer ball (football) is round. Stupid American.

This year has gone by so fast! I can't believe that I will be coming home in less than two weeks. I will be home June 26 for those that don't know.





Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Jim and HarryJim and Harry
Jim and Harry

Jim and Harry, they are so funny. Jim is obssed with the game paper rock scissors. As soon as I walk in the door he has his hand out ready to play.
class photoclass photo
class photo

Luckily the class teacher was gone when i took this photo I did not realize until I was finished that some of the students had climbed on their desks.
Maggie Maggie
Maggie

By far I enjoy teaching boys more then girls. Girls are far better at the grammer and writing. They know the English but they don't speak. They sit and stare at me. While the boys are very eager to talk as much as they can. But Maggie was an excemption she was very sweet and always tried to talk to me.
Grade 4 class 1 Grade 4 class 1
Grade 4 class 1

I remember how hard it was for me when i first came here to tell all the students apart because they all wore uniforms and looked the same. Now I can't imagine not seeing how different they all are.
Grade 4 class 1 Grade 4 class 1
Grade 4 class 1

No matter how hard I tried I could not get them to back up and look calmly at the camera for a group photo. Normally I have more control over my class really I do.
Grade 4 class 2Grade 4 class 2
Grade 4 class 2

Grade four class 2 were really good it had some very interesting students. Some with really good english some with no english
grade4 class2grade4 class2
grade4 class2

I don't know how she did it. But she managed to sit quietly for an entire semester watching and trying while she could not even read english. I she was sooo sweet.
BasinBasin
Basin

Left to right Aven funny kid always full energy perhaps at times to much energy. Bill memorized the entire book. every week he would recite to me the dialogues with out the book. His English is so good. Susy She was quiet. And Carter has ADD I just let him bounce around the classroom because i could not keep him in his chair.
GirlsGirls
Girls

All semester we played a game where each row was a different animal and you could earn starts for behaviour or memorizing. This row was three girls. They always won for behaviour and they were really good if you asked them questions directly. But they never volunteered and really hated when we played games.
grade 4 class2grade 4 class2
grade 4 class2

Sittting next to the three girls was this group of three boys. who never won stars for behaviour but continually lost stars because they were always screaming at me. Teacher Teacher Teacher ME ME pick MEEEE !! So I eventually started yelling back Student Student sit down!


14th June 2007

Can't believe you're leaving!
Wow! You've had so many blogs about so many fascinating things! I really do look forward to your new additions, and it kinda seems sad that this is coming to a close. But then I remember that your USA blogs were really interesting as well. But now you can't ever stop doing this--they're too much fun for all of us to read!
16th June 2007

Homecoming
Ahh! You're going to be home sooner than July 4th! Yay! I can't wait to see you!!! I hope you have LOADS of fun this last week!!! Love you!
20th June 2007

heeeelllooo trisha. hmmm. i wonder what your chinese name is. well, i wanted to thank you (very late) for the graduation e-card. i know, it's crazy that i'm done. i would probably only have one leg if not for your urging freshman year to visit the doc about my little spider bite. so ...my left leg says, "THANK YOU"!!!! i can't believe how soon you will be home...wow. my computer has been a piece o crap, so i havne't been able to read your blogs. :( i'm actually in Gambrell right now! HAHA. love you.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb