The seasons


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Feng Tai District
March 29th 2007
Published: March 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Not so long agoNot so long agoNot so long ago

The seasons are flying by.
This past weekend was spent riding buses. I am now reminded how much I miss my car and how traveling around Beijing by bus is really a pain. Saturday I left at 8 to catch a bus to catch the subway to change subway lines to walk for 30 minutes just get to the other side of Beijing and it only took me 2 hours. Sunday was spent riding one bus to the subway taking the subway and then another bus to buy DVD's. We took a different route back and took only two buses. This trip only took us all day. We boarded one bus at 5 o'clock. I can now say that humans disembodied me. Pressed against one man another man pressed between my shoulder blades one arm decided to go right pinned between two people while my left arm with bags decided to go left between two different people. It was so tight I could have lifted my feet and still remained upright. In this very awkward position I made the comment to Francesca who was somewhere on the bus, " I am not comfortable with this." We are now always laughing at the things we are
Spring has arrived Spring has arrived Spring has arrived

Spring has arrived in Beijing and I am so excited. I can now say i have watched the season pass.
" not comfortable " with in China.

I have just finished the greatest movie ever. The BBC North and South has captured my heart. It’s Pride and Prejudice with a social conscience. I love it maybe more than Pride and Prejudice (maybe).

You can tell a lot about a person by the leading ladies they idolize. My top five

1. Elizabeth - Pride and Prejudice
2. Scarlett - Gone with the Wind
3. Joe - Little Women
4. Margaret - North and South
5. Karen Blixen- Out of Africa

I like the thought of being right and still getting the guy, most of the time.

My favorite line from the movie is when Margaret returns to the south after spending sometime in the industrial north
" When I was in Milton I romanticized Hensley now that I am in Hensley I must be careful not to romanticize Milton."

I find myself romanticizing growing up in the countryside in the south while here in China but when I come home I will romanticize living in the industrial district of Beijing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Spring Spring
Spring

With Spring comes the wind. This park near the the Temple of Heaven is always full of people flying and selling kites. This one was particularly funny to me.
Spring Spring
Spring

Spring means the old people are out in full force although they still filled this pagadoa when the lake was frozen. It also means the man who sings in the park at 7 am is back as well.
Spring Spring
Spring

Spring cleaning chinese style


29th March 2007

I think those leading ladies say excellent things about you!
29th March 2007

"the thought of being right and still getting the guy" as if there was any other way its supposed to happen! ;)
29th March 2007

Every time you mention the "subway" in your posts, I think of a foot long cold cut at the subway we have here in Columbia. :)
30th March 2007

I like being right
My sisters can be right if you want but I'm going for the girl who doesn't mind being wrong.
30th March 2007

you're skiing?
What haven't you done in China? Skiing! You are taking advantage of your time there. I am so glad! Yeah, you'll miss it. It's wierd how you can love two completely different places. One thing you are going to love is the fresh U.S. air and the clean water. Take care, Cheryl

Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1633s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb