The Night Before the Journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district
February 9th 2011
Published: February 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This past week was my first Chinese New Years in Taiwan since I became an American. While it was great spending time with my parents (which I don't do enough), my mind has been preoccupied by Beijing. What will it be like? Will I make new friends to hang out with? How will I party? Most importantly, how will I survive without Facebook? In the last 27 years, I have had residency in 10 different cities, and this mixture of excitement and self-doubt has resurfaced itself every single time:
Taipei, Taiwan
New Orleans, Louisiana
Houston, Texas
Austin, Texas
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Dallas, Texas
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Cincinnati, Ohio
San Francisco, California
...and soon Beijing!

I wouldn't call myself a traveler. I am just a firm believer in the University of Life education system. When you move outside of your comfort zone, you become more aware of life and yourself. For now, this is how I learn.

I have managed to pack all my belongings into one large suitcase. It's amazing how this discipline to pack light forces you to make choices. I imagine it's like picking your favorite kid, and that one gets to go to college. Regardless, this will be a resourceful trip. I will be living in the Chaoyang District, which supposedly is the modern part of Beijing. I just hope my street smarts are still capable enough without my iPhone to survive in this urban jungle. The first stop will be locating my apartment and meeting my roommate for the first time. Bon voyage my dear friends!



Advertisement



9th February 2011

This is like watching your kid go to college...
...except you aren't my kid and my kids aren't even in 3rd grade! Be safe, Frank! I guess it's times like these that you answer the question, "With or Without You?" when it comes to your Facebook and iPhone. To live without FB is okay, but to live without an iPhone... Best wishes!! Anh

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb