Silk Street Market


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Beijing » Chaoyang district
November 12th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Reputed to be the 3rd most visited location by tourists, this mall (for lack of better word) is teeming with westerners and cheap knockoffs. The main floor is crowded with small three sided stalls selling all the best brands. I decided that I needed a jacket for the cold.
I thought I was pretty good at bargaining, but my friend, Stan, put me to shame! He refused to pay more than about a 1/3 of the original asking price. If the starting price was 400RMB, he complained it was too expensive and offered 80RMB. Back and forth, it seemed to take forever to get to 150RMB. By then the shopgirls were tired of him and some even sent him away. He eventually managed to buy me a Peak jacket for 130RMB.
For some bargainers its all about the game - I could have got a jacket within an hour for 150RMB, but Stan was determined. So for 20RMB or $3CAN I spent an extra hour in the silk market!
We ate at the canteen in the basement, 10RMB for rice with three sides. Not a bad price.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb