2 pints of larger and a packet of crisps please!


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
June 25th 2014
Published: June 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

it was an early ish start for us on Saturday as the mini bus was leaving at 7.30am, although I was hopping off as i have time. I had set my alarm so we were up in time but when we got up to have showers etc there was no water. Becky had already flagged this up to the hotel people and they were working on the situation. It finally got sorted and everyone got clean and packed and the bus left about 7.45am. I hugged and waved goodbye to everyone and waited for my minivan to arrive, which it did just after 8am



There were already 3 people from the UK and 4 people from the states/Canada on the bus. We then drive round the town picking up more people until the van was full and we were squeezed in like sardines lol.



We headed for Sihanouk Ville and stopped off on the way for oil or something so we took advantage and used the loo and bought supplies.



We got to the town around 11am and I got a tuk tuk to the hostel I had found on line. I checked in and then went for a walk round the town and went to a small bar which had a rock orientated name but wasn't - but RRBS you wikl be pleased to hear it was painted your favourite shade of purple inside :-)



I got chatting to Charlie the guy running the bar and Phil who was having a drink there. Finding out about their stories and how they ended up there. One or two others came in too and again we all got chatting and I whiled away a few hours drinking larger as they had no cider. I then headed for food to the All Nations bar upon Charlie's recommendation and had a baked spud with cheese and beans and a cider. Awesome! And sat and watched Runaway a Jury which is a mighty fine film.



Then I went for a pedicure as my feet were in disparate need of some TkC and some new nail varnish. As I headed back to the hostel I heard someone calling my name and it was the on we of the Two Scousers bar who I had been talking to at Carlies bar. I went into say hi and a chat and a couple of ciders and ended up chatting to a couple of guys, one who runs a bar and one who,lives there.



Finally I left there and came back to the hostel and got some sleep, showered and changed. I had some food, went back to see the two Scousers and then round to see Charlie. I ended up working behind the bar lol. He has offered me a job! It's aid I'd help out whilst I'm around but can't stay. Again I got chatting to people coming into the bar. After it closed at 2pm we headed next door to watch the Germany game. I ended up talking to a much older guy - may be in his 70s and I did chuckle to myself as I looked at him wearing his Jamaican shirt at shorts. He was drunk and a little stoned and was talking to me in short, slow uncomplicated sentences as if I didnt speak English, I guess it comes from living in a county where English is not a first language and from years of teaching English to foreign students lol. At half time I headed back to the hostel as I was ready for sleep.



Xx





************not for mums eyes *******************





My observation on the guys I met are that try are all 50+ many of them have not lived in the UK for years and have either travelled or lived in other countries and finally settled here. Phil was just totally fed up of the UK and took his pension and headed here. 3 of them run bars. They seem to enjoy interacting with the local ladies and even the lady boys but I cannot expand on this but dear reader I'm sure you get my drift. It also seems to be the part of town where working girls hang out in the bars and there does seem to be a lot of western men here Kelly surpreese!



I shall be heading off to pastures new soon and leave all this excitement behind lol.



Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb