Sihanoukville and two days on Koh Rong Samloem


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
August 31st 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

SihanoukvilleSihanoukvilleSihanoukville

On a rainy morning, it did brighten up later.
Ok, I am actually in Phnom Penh in my room with a cool fan blowing on me, the city is melting and I am hiding until later on but now is a better time than any to reminisce of my time on a desert island and diving on various locations around the bay which was only 1 week ago now.

I arrived in the place that all expats call sinville ona rainy morning but I held out for the sunshine and low and behold it didn't let me down, so with a new revived spring in my step after an overnight bus I booked my two day dive trip and then hit the beach and caught up with my other travelling buddies. The beach here is a place where you can every hair of your body threaded out, manicures and pedicures all whilst sipping on a cocktail and eat fresh clamaries and squid and still leave with a golden tan or sunburn and have the ocean lapping at your feet, it really is a piece of paradise. One point and I hate to be the Brit abroad but a local restaurant here does some of the best fish and chips
Watching the sun go down for another dayWatching the sun go down for another dayWatching the sun go down for another day

Feeling better now and this was my view from my beach hut.
I have ever tasted.

So, the next morning it was up with the Baracudas and off for the 2 hour trip to Koh Rong. The first day visibility wasn't too great and I ended up having a bout of sea sickness and ended up taking to my bed for the rest of the afternoon but once I found my land legs again I was up to watch the sunset on our little patch of paradise, we slept under the stars and lulled to sleep by the soft sound of the ocean kissing the stoney shores. (I am trying to set the scene here). Other than the sea there wasn't much else to the island at all just us, our huts and a fishing village and for the 2 days we were the only dive boat on the island, it truly was our very own marine playground.

The next visibility was much improved and it was like an underwater garden with coral in abundance and teeming with marine life. Please don't questionme about th names of the fish I haven't got a clue but they all had pretty colours. Once the fins and snorkels were hung up it was
Sunset on Koh Rong Sunset on Koh Rong Sunset on Koh Rong

Our little bit of paradise
time to head back to the mainland and some more of those fish and chips. Tonight also I said goodbye to Petra, Mira and Jo, it was time to go our separate ways. Bon voyage and safe travels.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Fishing boatsFishing boats
Fishing boats

The only other boats we had to share the bay with


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb