Kampot and pepper


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Kampot
August 31st 2011
Published: August 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Seeing I had a bit of time on my hands I decided to follow the coast and ended up leaving Sinville under the same rain cloud I had arrived under and my travels took me to the charming town of Kampot with it's ageing French buildings, a little bit more in-land and set on a river. Famed for it's pepper and it's easy relaxed atmosphere there is not so much to do here except to sit in one of the many bars set on the riverbanks and yes you've guessed it, watch a sunset.


On my first day I hired a bike and cycled round the town, infact it was so small I ended up cycling around a good few more times and the second I hired me a tuk tuk and went off to explore the temple cave of Phnom Chhnork, which is set in limestone hills and the surrounding countryside is like something out of Jurassic Park. On arriving at the caves the local kids run around you all wanting to guide you around, I felt like Angelina Jolie on one of her humanity trips (no I will not be coming home with one). So to support the locals and their economy I hired a kid and his torch for half an hour for a couple of $'s. The trip out there was the real treat though, bouncing along on the dirt roads snaking through the rice fields.

In the afternoon I hired another local and his moped and took a trip alon the river to catch some views and of course another sunset. There is a large expat community here most a few I met in the hostel bar, most of them wanting to set up guest houses and have married their Cambodian bride. I only spent 2 nights here and the following day, Sunday I moved onto Kep, so get ready for the next instalment.




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View from the topView from the top
View from the top

I am sure I saw a T-rex
Keeping guardKeeping guard
Keeping guard

I can see one relic, I don't know what the other one is doing?


Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb