Full Moon Party and more flip flop drama....


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
February 19th 2011
Published: February 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wake up early to hear the neighbours talking - not loudly, but the walls here seem paper thin! Luckily they leave for pastures new so i get back to sleep! It surprises me how virtually everyone in my guest house only seem to stay a night or 2! There seem to be a lot of people just come here on holiday, but guessing they go for the more expensive places......

I decide to just have a lazy one on the beach again so find a tree for some shade and settle down amongst the cows - their actually quite interesting to watch, they come quite close but don't seem bothered by me being there 😊 After spending the next couple of hours swimming and reading i take a slow stroll back and go to my fave beach bar for crepe and tea and chill on one of their beds - yup, a lot of chilling being done here! I then decide to walk over to the other beach to catch the sunset and have my camera at hand this time - only sods law - after a cloudless day with endless blue skies, it clouds over so no sunset!! Oh well, i'm here for longer so hopefully will catch another one.....

I then head over to one of my fave restaurants for a BBQ before the full moon party.....

Now for the crazy bit of the holiday - the FMP!!! I get on a boat (similar to yesterday to go to the same island we went to there) although this time they don't stop off for any snorkelling, i really wouldnt have been surprised if they had tho!!! And we all head off for the hour and half's journey - seems a long way to go for something none of us have any idea what to expect!! But the rest of the town will be dead tonight as everyone is there so seems the place to go and have some fun, and that i did!!

We finally arrived about 10.30 and it was a lot smaller than i imagined, i'd guessed it'd be like Koh Phangnan, but was just one dj and more compact, this was actually better as the atmosphere was great, and good tunes, whereas having it more spread out might've killed the vibe a bit..... The vibe was amazing - so many friendly cool people, i got chatting straight away and seemed like i knew half the people there by the end of the night! The bits that stand out were a drunken card game a Dutch girl taught a few of us called Kinks, endless fun, then a swedish guy had a bet with me that he could tell who was swedish more than i could out of everyone there! Well i didnt do badly, but i guess he won royally when i went up to a girl who definitely looked 'scandinavian' but turned out she lived in New Southgate, literally a 5 minute drive from me back home, haha!! Well i have to admit after a bucket too many everything got a bit blurry and i think it was around 5ish when we all started to head back to shore! Although the boat i was on decided to break down! We got rowed back to shore, to see another boat heading out, a girl shouted 'quick let's try and make it'! So somehow i ended up wading or swimming to make this other boat!! No one else from my boat made it - im guessing i was the only one drunk enough (or crazy enough!) to actually make a swim for it!!! Well this is where part II of the flip flop scenario comes into play! It falls off somewhere in the sea, i'm sure i spot it and all pleased with myself (remember i've had a few buckets at this point!!) i start telling everyone how their my spiritual flip flops that i've had for 3 years and go everywhere with me and how i was destined to find it in the sea!! Only when i show the damn thing off i suddenly realise not only have i got 2 right feet but it's a black one about 5 sizes too big, haha!! Well i guess my flip flop did come to a spiritual end in the sea anyway ...... For now im hanging on to the odd ones for the trek back!!

We then chilled back at dry land for a few hours before i made the journey back to my guesthouse - now this was when i realised the exact state of me, i'm wearing odd flip flops, am soaking wet and covered in sand from the boat's 'swim'', i decide to get out my shades as a slight disguise to find them completely smashed in my bag, yup, that is all one soggy mess too! I'm thinking i probably give that anti-drink ad a few months back a run for it's money where they replay the night backwards, ha! Asking for my room key at 10am wasn't a good experience, but hopefully their used to it here!!

All in all the FMP was great and worth the not too great hangover the next morning for :-)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0912s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb