following the trend


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Sihanoukville
May 15th 2007
Published: May 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So it was time again. For what? For me to get sick of course. This time it was food poisoning again.

On friday we went out on the beach to do some dive exercises. I was feeling quite bad in the morning but still went ahead. We then had to drag ourselves a far way out to get deep enough water so that we could dive. The exercise was to get an uncouncious diver to shore while giving them breath-aid. It not easy, especially when the waves are big. It was hard and hot even though it was raining.

Afterwards we went back to our place and had food but I had no appetite. And then later in the evening I erupted. And kept on doing so for 7-8 hours every ten minutes. This is the worst case of food poisoning I have had. I think I slept 3 hours and then it was time again. Though less frequent it totally immobilized me. And the lack of energy is really the worst part. I could not read, not do anything, not even watch tv. So it was just laying in bed feeling sorry for myself feeling sick. Anything I ate or drank came back up our down.

After 4 days and no improvement I went to the doctor. And they gave me 3 medicines. The problem was that I had not eaten anything for 4 days, barely drunk anything. And the medicines cost all my money which ment I had to walk home. And of course it was sunshine and hot. I felt like fainting all the way. And I had to get some food to eat before taking the antibiotics so first I needed to go shopping. And then the stairs back to our appartment. It feels quite stupid that I have to stay and rest when it's only five more steps but that's how week I was.

The first medicine I took was an antinausia. It really made me better. I then managed to boil a potato and ate half of it before the antibiotics. All these actions to me is equivalent to climbing Mount Everest.

I guess there hasn't really been much interesting for me to report since I have only seen our place.

Since getting better I feel very hungry, but can only eat little. I do think the antinausia makes me feel hungry and I have been dreaming about food for hours and hours. I've been reading the Australia guide book and all the food you can eat there. And thinking of my parents food, and my food and more or less any food. I am still very scared of eating things, so far I have only eated boiled vegetables. My biggest craving is taco-spiced mince with tortillas and all the other things you eat it with. You can't get that here, you get mexican food but the spices are all wrong.

Feeling bad made me temporarly want to go home. Missing family and friends is harder when you feel down.

I've also realized that Australia will be very different travelling from here, we will again be poor people. It's nothing I look forward to but it's a fact.

Now I just want to get done here and get going again. I am getting a bit bored and the rain is not good for me. I need sunshine. The rain is so loud, last night I had problems sleeping dreaming of food and feeling hungry. Then when I finally managed to go to sleep the rain started and I woke up. I put in earplugs and managed to back to sleep after a long time. Then the rain must have stopped and started again because I woke up of the sound, even though I was wearing ear plugs. It's amazing how much water you can put into a cloud and how much that can come down at the same time. Doesn't seem logical to me. If I had a shower with that pressure I would be way happy.

While doing the diving Amie had my mask and threw it to me but to short. And the mask sank. And with the waves and the lack of visability we could not find it again. I will get a new mask though, with a special purge valve which makes it easy to get out water from it that might leak in. It will most likely have to wait until we are back in Thailand.

The plans now are to finish here in two weeks then do 10 more days in other parts of Cambodia, travel up through Laos for a month, into northern Thailand and then take off to Oz.

I am constantly learning things here and I am a bit afraid that I will forget when getting back.
The cultures and ways of living are so different but I want to keep a lot of it with me. Just not to have to listen to all the shit music through radios everywhere is great. Finally I can only listen to good music and not being fed all the brainless chartmusic.

Well hopefully I will keep up my good mood....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb