Suas dei Phnom Penh


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
April 12th 2010
Published: April 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Cambodia, known as Kingdom of Wonders. I landed in Phnom Penh airport on 5th April.
First thinng i do is to change a few dollars to Riel in the airport with not very good exchange rate though. Once i disembark from the airport exit, I been surround by so many local people that offer me taxi, tuk tuk and motorcycle driver. I start to play my role as tourist, and manage to deal a good deal for Riel2000 that equal 1 dollar, from airport to center of City ( Sisowath Quay ).

Dusty, hectic, and aggresive, that I can see from this big city. With a traffic light every 500meter,
not so tall building that blend with French architecture, motorcyclist, taxi, it show nothing different
for me from big city to another big city.

My watch show 4pm but in Phnom Penh is 1hours late then Malaysia. I ask the motorcycle driver to drop me to Neak Krohorm travel agency to get my bus ticket to depart to Siem Reap by tomorrow. The driver good in doing his marketing, try to pursue me to accommodate more cheaper room in center of town, but i told him that i got problem to wake up early in morning and I need to get room that just nearest with the bus station so that i can catch my early morning bus with no problem to pack and carry my rucksack.

I manage to get a rooms for USD5, with a single fan bedroom attach with bathroom, complete with water heater just few block from the bus station, I decide to check out this city, since i'll be leaving early in next morning at 8am.

Chaos.! every 5meter, there is a tuk tuk driver, children that selling a Lonely planet book and some others stuff, pub and restaurant offer cheap food and drink, massage house, guesthouse. This make thing easier than i think. Very touristic places.

King Palace just a few block from hostel that I accomodate, Tonle Sap river just a few meter from Sisowath Quay main road. And i been interview by few local people that can speak in Malay. Some of them migrate, married, born and work in Malaysia before, and get some advice where I can get halal food from this big city.
They're very friendly. I'm very glad that this city is welcome me in a very amazing way.

A bit frustrated, since i need to leave this city without explore what they can offer to me. For sure I'll be back soon.

to be continued in SIEM REAP ...........










Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 23; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb