Somber Sunday


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 14th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I realised last night that I had better get my skates on if I was going to see some of the tourist highlights before leaving Phnom Penh. So, today I bravely jumped on the back of a moto and headed for Tuol Sleng Muesum and the Killing Fields.

I prepared for the worst and packed some tissues (I didn't need them in the end though). The exhibition- while still harrowing, affected me much less than the War Muesum I saw in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. I'm glad I had finished reading my book "First They Killed My Father" because alot of the exhibits in the museum are not accompanied by signs or information, therefore, having prior knowledge about what took place made it easier to understand what I was being presented with. The cells were more tiny than can be described and the fear and anguish in the eyes of the prisoners mug shots eats at you long after you have finished looking at them. After an hour and a half I retreated to the Bodhi Tree Cafe across the road for some quiet reflection and a mango shake. Once recovered, I found a moto driver and headed towards the Killing Fields.

The drive to the Killing fields took about 20 minutes and I am now burnt as it was about lunchtime when I set off. On one hand it was good going at that time because a lot of other tourists were seeking refuge from the heat, so the place was virtually empty. On the other hand I found it creepy walking around by myself as you do not have to try very hard to imagine the nightmarish scenes of only a few years ago. Human remains are on display and a section of the walking track is now cordened off as human bones can be seen poking out just below the dirts surface. A tree still stands that was used to kill babies by smashing their heads against the trunk. Although you are permitted to take photos there was no way my camera was coming out of my bag- to me it just felt wrong and disrespectful. I was shocked and disgusted to learn that Pol Pot escaped trial and lived in exhile before dying only a few years ago.

So, today has been bittersweet. I'm glad I have experienced these places and grown in awareness about our world. I'm grateful I went while I still have the girls to come home to. When I got back mid afternoon they told me gleefully tonight was sushi night. It is wonderful to have them to lift me after a harrowing day.

What was your weekend like? Let me know. Love to you all. xxx

Advertisement



14th March 2010

Hi Chloe, it is good to know you are well. It sounds as though you had a harrowing w'end but it is good to see these places if only to learn from them, so the horror won't happen again!! yesterday Tony and Daniel got bricks from a salvage yard to complete his brick paving and we visited Pat, as we had trees lopped at Kingsley. This morning we wrnt to Cottesloe beach to see the beach sculptures and enjoyed walking around looking at them and the people,( the people were much more interesting!!!) Paul is extremely busy and has a hectic few weeks ahead as he completes more training. He's not sure yet if he will be off work for Easter at the farm, but he's hoping to come. Take care, Love, Marian
15th March 2010

I did the same thing in Germany walking through the concentration camps by myself... creepy! My weekend was good, had a fundraiser lunch on saturday... that went until 5am sunday morning... needless to say sunday I was a mess. Thank god for KFC and DVD's. Anyhoo, flynn and i have broken up after 4 years. He has moved to adelaide, but we still in contact and hope to get back together one day... will see. Next time you have some free time, go do something fun and light hearted.... it takes ages to get over those memories... the world is so crazy and wrong sometimes. I find myself wondering all the time "what is wrong with people" when you read horrific things. I dont get it. Kirst.
15th March 2010

Hi Chloe, What does one say to such horror? How is it that man can do such things to other human beings, especially to innocent children? I despair when I am reminded of such things. Thank goodness you have such lovely friends to life your spirits. The fact that you guys are there is evidence of the other side of the coin.... that there are human beings alive in the world and doing good in it. You can be proud that you have taken time out of a hedonistic world to give something back. All my love, Mum. By the way, a guy at my school wants to know what the organisation is that the two other girls who are working at your school (or have they left?) used? I will give him the one you used as well. He is keen to do some voluntary work in one of his holidays.
16th March 2010

got postcard!
HI SISSY we got your postcard in the mail today. it was doubly exciting as it is the first piece of mail i have received at Kallaroo. thank you so much for sending it, it thrilled me to bits. the content only made me feel sorry for you though, sorry for you and zip lock bags...but glad they are made with such strength and non-leaky material!! sounds like you found a "red shoe" story of your own. Vegemite is a happy boy, he played with the boys in the back yard today while they were working on the boat. then he got their bones from the steak they BBQ'd. im off to bed now, lov eyou tonnes, goodnight xxx

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb