Nightmare night


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
March 14th 2010
Published: March 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Scary tearScary tearScary tear

Where the net was torn, just next to my pillow.
It's just gone 6am here and I've been awake since 2am when I saw a man outside my window and heard a ripping sound. The sound turned out to be my mosquito net and the man I saw quickly climbed out over my balcony. We think the ''Australia'' pin which was attached to my day pack caugfht the netting as he slipped it through the bars on the window- just inches from my head. Cazz's door was ajar and she suffered the most with her camera, phone, sunglasses and wallet being taken. I am disappointed to have lost my Oakley sunglasses, daypack, $50 and a few bits and bobs but I'm more relieved that I was unijured seeing how close I was to him.

On first waking I was confused as to why a man (wearing only trousers) was satanding outside my window. On realising what had happened ( at that stage I only thought my net had been cut) my heart raced and panic sunk in. I ran to the living room and shouted out to the girls. As Cazz was consoling me she went back to get her pillow so I wouldn't have to go back to sleep alone, only to notice that her stuff was missing too. Luckily he did not take her lap top as all her precious photos are on it. Abi's room was not touched as she does not have a balcony door.

We will have to call the police this morning and make a police report. I am changing beds today so I won't be next to the window again. I am still in shock and am jittery and nervous. I guess this is just one of the lows of travelling. I still feel deeply thankful that it was only stuff he took!

Mum, I'll call you tonight. I hope your week is off to a better start than mine.

Advertisement



15th March 2010

be safe
thank god you and the other girls are okay.....
15th March 2010

Oh dear!
Hello Chloe what an awful thing to happen to you. I'm so sorry to hear about this. It just makes me feel sick to think that you have gone there to help out and someone can take advantage of you like this. There are scumbags like this all over the world Chloe and as you say it was only your stuff that was taken. He could have raped you or killed you hadyou been in Africa!! How was he able to get into your accomodation so easily. Can't you lock your doors? I hope the police are able to help you. Are all your passsports still safe? Poor baby. You are being very brave but realize now that you are vulnerable to unscrupulous people with no morals. Take care of yourself and try not to let this horrible incident spoil your travels. Much love Carolxxx
15th March 2010

Chloe i hope your ok. Its the worst feeling, trust me i know. Its so scary and takes ages to get over. Cant you all sleep together? At least for the next few days.....
15th March 2010

sissy
oh chloe this is horrible, you were so lucky. that is the most freakiest thing ever. you must feel terrible. im working tonight untill 7pm, but i will come around to mums house after that and hopefully get to speak to you. if not, at least i will get all the news from mum. i love you so much and am so glad you are ok. sending you a big hug and lots of love, mia xxx
15th March 2010

Hello my beautiful Chloe, I was very horrified to read your post about the break in. That must have been a very frightening experience for all of you. I'm so glad that you are ok and were not hurt and even though it's hard not be angry and disappointed that some of your things were taken...it could have been much worse. After such a humbling and sobering experience at the killing fields it would have been the last thing you wanted to deal with. But what doesn't break you will only make you stronger. My weekend was very very different to yours...I took my cousin out for lunch on Saturday as she has just moved to Perth to start uni and is very homesick and struggling to settle so I think she was very glad to see a familiar and friendly face. School Mass on Sat night and then back to Perth for my friend Cassie's hen's night (thus the party dress and dancing shoes) for a fun filled night at none other than Collar and Cuffs :-) The next day I went to my friend Leesa's baby's christening, which was lovely and baby Bree is soooo tiny. When I got back Lisa and I relaxed at Karen and Jon's in the spa with amazing JKL leftovers. I have also made an official decision to come in July...yay!!! Anyway I really hope your last week finishes up much better than it has begun..lots of love xxxx Carrie

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb