Phnom Penh - the Killing Fields


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » South » Phnom Penh
August 26th 2006
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

26th Aug 2006
Phnom Penh (Cambodia)

Hi everyone.

I am now in Phnom Phen the capital of Cambodia. This city is known for its extremes you can see riches and poverty all in the same pitcher. Thier palaces and museums are some of the most beautiful in the world. Yet the history of the last 35 years are still present in everybody's minds. I find the people very happy and pleasant. The city is trying to except what has happened in the past and look towards the future.
The city is very chaotic but I seem to have found a little piece of heaven. I have found a guesthouse on lake in the center of town. When I say on a lake, it is on the lake. They have used up all the land on the shore and have started building into the lake. I am on the 2nd floor of a building that is on stilts in the water. They have a very nice 2nd floor lounge were you can sit around and watch the sun set across the lake or laze the day away.
Now to the darkerside of the cities history. I have visited the S21
My guesthouseMy guesthouseMy guesthouse

My Piece of Heaven
(Security Prison 21, Tuol Sleng) prior to the Khmer Rouge regime it was a highschool. The Khmer Rouge converted it to a torture camp. I also visted the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek where 17000 men women and childern were executed by the Khmer Rouge. This is just one of many mass grave sights through out the country. In total 2 million Cambodians died between 1975 and 1979 because of the genocide inflicted by the Khmer Rouge.

Today all I'm doing is lounging around the guest house taking a day to relax. Tomorrow I head to Seim Reap to spend 3 or 4 days checking out the ancient temples of Angkor Wat.





Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Danger MinesDanger Mines
Danger Mines

Watch your step.
Special Pizza ToppingsSpecial Pizza Toppings
Special Pizza Toppings

Toppings :Happy $0.50 Extra Happy $1.00
The Killing Fields 5The Killing Fields 5
The Killing Fields 5

Cloths and Bones coming up through the ground. Mass graves everywhere.
The Killing Fields 4The Killing Fields 4
The Killing Fields 4

Mass Graves Everywhere
Who Needs a MinivanWho Needs a Minivan
Who Needs a Minivan

There is 6 people on this scooter


30th May 2007

your guest house
you said you found a good guest house a "piece of heaven" in Phnom Penh...I'm there this summer and would like to know where to find the guest house if that's possible...thanks muchly
30th May 2007

My Piece of Heaven
Sorry, I do not remember the name of the guest house. It was on the east shore of Boeng Kak lake. There are about 15 to 20 different budget Guest houses here. Look around some are better then others. Prices range from $1.50 to $15/night. I paid $4.00. The sunsets are great. I hope this helps you.
31st May 2007

very much so... also how did you get to the Killing Fields and the S21? was it difficult? thanks for your help...
1st June 2007

S21 & Killing Fields
Any tuk-tuk/ motorcycle taxi driver will take you there. I walked from the lake to S21 (Very far). I paid $4 for a motorcycle taxi to take me to the Killing Fields wait around an hour and then drive me back. Admission was $1. I think it was just some guy sitting there collecting money (Stupid Tourist Tax). Other places you may want to check out Central Market and the Royal Palace.
1st June 2007

Thanks!! You've been a great help!!
4th June 2007

About the pizza toppings
Hi , im courtney and i am a research student and I'm doing a project on cambodian food and what are the toppings on the pizza? because I will be cooking it!! thanks if you can answer me now would be terrific . . S2

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb