Temples of Angkor Watt, Siem Reap


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
December 8th 2010
Published: May 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After an amazing sleep in a 4 star hotel, a wonderful shower with hot water and an incredible buffet breakfast, we felt refreshed and ready to go and explore Cambodia! Our taxi driver arrived on time and hanging tightly on to our bags and cameras we left for the temples.
When we arrived at the ticket booth we were told that a one day ticket was US$20, so I handed over a US$50 (was all I had) and within seconds that note had been passed to a chap who whisked it out the back door! The lady handed me back a ticket with no change. So, I waited...and waited....and waited!! I said VERY LOUDLY that I would like my change please. She told me that there is "No change"! I said again "I WOULD LIKE MY CHANGE PLEASE!". Once again, she repeated herself and advised me that there was no change. Trying to stay calm I spoke very calmly and told here that I would not be leaving this booth until I was given my change. The lady made a phone cal and within a few minutes the same chap who had scurried off with my US$50 came bak in through the back door and handed her $30 in US notes. She quickly passed it through the booth window to me and I thanked her and left to get back into our taxi. The awful feeling of people trying to rip us off everywhere we went was a real dampener on our visit to Cambodia, but we tried to keep it all in perspective. This is a poor country that has suffered greatly through war and tradegy and people will do what they need to do in order to survive. It's just such a shame that it is the tourists who bring money int the country are the ones that they target.
Upon entering into the temple area there seem to be a change in the air. Reverent? Ethereal? I'm not sure how to put it into words, but seeing the temples for the first time through the branches of the trees that line the road is an unforgettable sight. There isn't much more to say as the photos will speak for themselves. We only had time to visit 2 of the 18 temples that are spread through 18 hectares of jungle. Certainly more to see on our next visit!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb