The Temples


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
September 28th 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

What a night! We all went for dinner and ate like kings. The beer was $3 a jug, they were practically giving it away! So we ordered starters and mains. One of the starters was curry prawns and I ordered chicken curry. Anyway, all the food comes and a pot that looks like my chicken curry so I tuck in. Very tasty indeed. I had almost finished it when I tasted something that was not tasting like chicken. I am allergic to shell fish, like prawns. So I ask Linda to taste it, yip, it was prawns! Now I started to get worried, the last thing I needed was to get violently ill. So we ordered a few more jugs of beer and I prayed for the best. Strange, all was ok! Not sick at all, maybe my allergy has gone? Linda, Tom and I then head off to another pub where we met another Canadian who told us that the booze in this pub was very cheap! Not believing him, we had to try for our self. $4 for a bucket of rum and coke, $4, that is dirt cheap. So instead of ordering one to share like you should, Tom and I ordered one each, Linda had a beer. That was it, after the bucket, it was a bit of a blur? Linda said we got home around 2am, which was great because we had to be up at 7am for our tour of the temples!
We woke up at 7am and went for breakfast, I was feeling like I had been hit by a bus! Today was not going to be fun.
John, our driver for the day came at 8am and we set off.
We saw most of the big temples today. Very amazing at what they built many many moons ago. Makes Stonehenge look like a rubbish dump for rocks!
One thing here that drives you nuts are all the kids selling stuff. They just don't stop. $1 dollar for this $1 for that. The one place we stopped, this little girl came running up to us asking us to buy things. Tired and with a hangover I said I would buy a coke when we got back from the temple. Little did I know, Linda also promised another girl. When we came back to our tuck tuck, the girl I spoke to came running to me saying,' Chris, Chris, remember you promised to buy a coke, remember? ' damn, so I bought Linda and I a drink. Next Linda's girl she spoke to came to us, not happy with Linda. The girl carried on and on saying, ' Oh my God Linda, you lied, you promised! Oh my God Linda, why you lie? ' she just went on and on and on!
All the temples have kids selling table cloths, scarves, bangles, etc. You say you have already they say buy more for your mom, girlfriend, etc. They just don't give up. The one girl was pretty sharp, I said I had no money, she said its ok, I can pay by credit card and laughed! Credit card? In the middle of the jungle? No chance.
Anyway, my advice is to just say no politely first then a firm no and ignore them. It's not like you don't want to buy stuff, it is very nice and dirt cheap. I am just not all to excited about carrying it all over South East Asia for the next 2 and a half months.
The evening was very quiet, walk around town, dinner then bed.... Another long day tomorrow, no way I will do that again with a hangover, I know exactly how Linda felt when we were in Kho Samui and I dragged her on the bike for the day sight seeing with a hangover!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb