Cambodia... Cambodia... Cambodia


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Siem Reap
June 4th 2008
Published: June 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am in Siem Reap, Cambodia....

Getting here was a bit of a hassle, we took a bus from Bangkok to the border which only took 4 hours or so. Then we had to get the Visa, which is supposed to cost $20 US, but the border guards like to have their palms greased a little so it was more like 40, but what can you do, not worth arguing about it...
So I crossed the border... and right away I could see a difference, first thing you notice is they drive on the same side of the road as us, which is the opposite from Thailand. Also, it reminds me alot of Bolivia, with the poverty and what not. So I was sitting at the border waiting for the bus, which I was told would be an hour and a half wait, then 10-12 hours bus ride to Siem Reap, or I could take a taxi for $10 US and it would only take 3 hours.... so I took the taxi with a couple other people. The ride was bumpy, and AC-less, but alot better than the bus would have been.

We got dropped off at a hotel, which I expected to be a dump, but it turns out its the nicest place Ive stayed on this trip and my last one, all for $8 US.

So I'm taking the day today to just relax and take a look around town, then tommorow I will go to Angkor Wat, the 8th wonder of the world...

The internet here is painfully slow, so I'll have to put pictures on another time





Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb