Siem Reap - Battambang


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Battambang
June 6th 2008
Published: June 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, in Siem Reap I hired a guy with a scooter to drive me around for the day to all the temples around Siem Reap, including Angkor Wat. I'm not too interested in history, but it was pretty cool to see all the temples, and see how sophisticated the temples are, considering they were built more than a thousand years ago. Alot of people come to Cambodia just to see Angkor Wat, so there were alot of annoying tour groups of 30+ people there, so that got to me a bit, so I channeled the inner buddhist in me and remained calm. All in all it was very neat to see and I'm sure you all would love it.

So, I got on the bus today bound for Battambang, and just after sitting down I notice two ladyboys with their eyes glued on me and big smiles on their faces, thankfully the driver came up to me and said I was in the wrong seat, so I moved back several rows, out of their view, next to an older woman that seemed to think my shoulder was a good pillow (as you can see in the picture)... anyways the bus ride from Siem Reap- Battambang is less than 200km's, but the ride still managed to take 6 hours. The bus made several stops, one where I got up to get some water and just before I got off the ladyboy grabbed my arm and I turned around and gave the most evil look I have ever given anyone. I got back to my seat unharmed, then the woman who had been sleeping on my shoulder sat back down with a bag full of deep fried crickets. I stared at the bag for a while trying to figure out what they were, so she offered me one and I accepted (I had yet to try anything weird so I thought I had better) you pluck off the wings then throw it down the hatch, I was actually surprised at how good they were. So after that I went back to listening my music and staring out the window and she continued eating the crickets, giving me a nice shower of cricket wings, oh well.

I've only uploaded the one picture for now since this internet is so slow, but once I get a better connection I will add more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



6th June 2008

HAhaha
You always get in the funniest situations, this post made me laugh so much..
6th June 2008

I'm away
Andrew--I have to go to Honolulu to see Mourdy--I think she is not too well. Will be gone for undetermined time and my E mail will be shut down. Barb will get news from Tracy Love you--keep enjoying Bob
7th June 2008

Funny
Andrew- You make me laugh with every travel update. I like your 'new' girlfriend. Be safe and take care. Love Jane

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0707s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb