Beng Mealea Temple


Advertisement
Cambodia's flag
Asia » Cambodia » North » Angkor
January 8th 2013
Published: March 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple

Amazing environment - imagine what it was like when it was first built
"Beng Mealea (its name means "lotus pond") is a temple in the Angkor Wat style located 40 km east of the main group of temples at Angkor, Cambodia, on the ancient royal highway to Preah Khan Kompong Svay.

The history of the temple is unknown and it can be dated only by its architectural style, identical to Angkor Wat, so scholars assumed it was built during the reign of king Suryavarman II in the early 12th century. Smaller in size than Angkor Wat, the king's main monument, Beng Mealea nonetheless ranks among the Khmer empire's larger temples: the gallery which forms the outer enclosure of the temple is 181 m by 152 m. It was the center of a town, surrounded by a moat 1025 m by 875 m large and 45 m wide." from Wikipedia

Beng Mealea was not on my itinery before arriving in Siem Reap but was suggested by my guide on the way back from Preah Vihear Temple. I had seen Angkor Wat and most of the other famous local temples and was going to see some of them again on this trip. The thought of seeing a new place always sparks my interest and
"I believe I can fly""I believe I can fly""I believe I can fly"

I love that song
it took little to convince me to make take the one hour drive to Ben Mealea. The local countryside was much nicer to view than the dry environment on the way to Preah Vihear. My guide suggested I return in rainy season when most areas are much greener and also the waterfalls are flowing at thier best.

My first impression after arriving at Beng Mealea and passing the moat was that I would just see lots of rubble and fallen blocks today. Wrong again. After walking and climbing over some huge blocks (maybe we went the wrong way) we found our way in to the magnificent grounds and buildings of Beng Mealea. Their is a walkway for viewing many parts of the temple from overhead and you can also go inside some of the buildings through narrow halls. The outer grounds have many huge trees growing through the walls of the temple. Beng Mealea is a very worthwhile temple to visit if you have time when you are in Cambodia.

Click on any of the 29 photos if you want a larger view


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple
Beng Mealea Temple

Scary start - will it all be like this? no, it was amazing inside
Beng Mealea Temple ButterflyBeng Mealea Temple Butterfly
Beng Mealea Temple Butterfly

The butterfly was 15 cm across it's wing span
Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple
Beng Mealea Temple

A window to the past
Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple
Beng Mealea Temple

The trees are very interesting in the Angkor temples, growing through many parts of the structures
Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple
Beng Mealea Temple

A relic amongst the ruins
Beng Mealea Temple outer wallsBeng Mealea Temple outer walls
Beng Mealea Temple outer walls

Amazing and interesting (have I said that before?)
Beng Mealea TempleBeng Mealea Temple
Beng Mealea Temple

Another ruin, er yes that is me !!
Beng Mealea Temple groundsBeng Mealea Temple grounds
Beng Mealea Temple grounds

Lots of trees at Beng Mealea


Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb