Whew!!!


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Yangon Region » Yangon
January 9th 2014
Published: January 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Hotmail still isn't working for me . It keeps asking for my code (????).Dan if you can check that out for me I would appreciate it a great deal . I think you remeber my password. Let me know here as it is all I have right now. . At least I got through to Travelblog today . That feeling of isolation didn't help especially since I didn't know what was happening with Suzanne .

YEAH !!! She will arrive on Sunday and maybe I can find out about transportation possibilities . I will book the hotel for one more night and be at the airport to greet her.

Flying into Burma and Yangon was really interesting. Actually the whole flight was interesting . Southern Japan ,China ,Vietnam , Thailand , ocean ,mountains ,deltas, rice fields ... not a snow bank in sight for an 8 hour flight .

Yangon struck me as pretty and definately alive with people and vehicles . Our hotel is in the downtown which really is quite run down but really exciting at the same time . The street markets are just ending . I had some great grilled sticks of meat and vegies for supper and really enjoyed them . The locals and their families were there as well as some Japanese and Caucasions with many different accents and languages..People watching is good here.

Tomorrow I will explore and research . Stay tuned and keep in touch.

Advertisement



9th January 2014

Whew and wow!
How hard it must have been to arrange to meet someone before we had email! Or cell phones! I am following your adventure, and already very jealous, although today the temp is out of the -30's. Feels good.
9th January 2014

Good to know
How great to hear that you have arrived in Burma! It is difficult to imagine such a different world, as we sit insulated in our snowbanks. Actually "only" minus 10 here this morning so a welcome relief from the deep freeze. Looking forward to your descriptions of this new adventure. Enjoy and stay safe.
9th January 2014

Longueuil
Good I am so happy to hear from you, I was anxious that you could not have my message. I went on Air Canada site this morning and everything looks ok for my departure tomorrow and the weather forecast is good with a minus 4 and gentle snow. See you soon. Suzanne.
9th January 2014

Didn't know you were travelling again. How fun! Have a safe trip and we'll look forward to your updates! Alex loved his Christmas and Birthday packages!
9th January 2014

alone out there
I often marvel at how different it must be to travel now as compared to my own travels, or even more so to a time pre internet. Sounds like you're experiencing it. I'm sure it's much more isolating. Glad you can at least check in here and know you're being thought of. Travel safely! Keep sharing those sights and smells. The world is amazing.
9th January 2014

Tk goodness.
So glad you are going to be able to hook up with Suzanne. We read about how bad the flights were out of Toronto. So we wondered if the 2 of you would ever find each other. Sounds very positive now. The deep freeze on the prairies is over for the moment. Good for them. -4 in Ormiston, -5 in Manitou, +1 in Penticton. Not too shabby after what has been happening. Anyway, glad you are making your way around so far. Lucky you are so experienced sure does help in a situation like this. Hi to Suzanne when you do find each other. Have fun. love,
9th January 2014

So happy to hear you have arrived safely and that things are going well. I can\'t wait for the photos!
10th January 2014

Glad that you got in touch with Suzanne! Enjoy the sights, food, etc.
11th January 2014

Tokyo
Here I am in Tokyo and looking forward to see you tomorrow. I had a good but long trip. Well it has to done. Suzanne.

Tot: 0.351s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb