Inle lake


Advertisement
Burma's flag
Asia » Burma » Mandalay Region » Inle Lake
December 31st 2010
Published: December 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

12/12/2010 - 15/12/2010

After the 3 day trek we arrived in Nyangshwe, small city nearby Inle Lake. I stayed at Queen Inn guesthouse, bungalow style with Mum, the perfect host! Due to my weak pesonality I developed another addiction here in Myanmar...banana pancakes!!!! They usually serve them anywhere in Myanmar and I would have at least one a day. For that my guesthouse was the best one I stayed....all you can eat banana pancakes for breakfast!!.. set a record of 5 big ones!

First day I met some french people at the guesthouse and we went on the full day boat trip on the lake. It was quite nice: visiting the floating gardens and villages, silk and lotus flower weaving factory, cigar rollng factory..etc and of course the oligated tourist shops along the way.

During the coming evenings we (entire Kalaw trekking group) would come together for dinner. A lot of fun and good laughs!!

Second day was kind of a relaxing day; I rented a bicycle and cruised around a bit and visited nearby villages.
in the afternoon we went to a close by winery. This was nice, sipping on some good wine; we asked for some good french cheese, some spanish ham and italian proscutto to go along...but we settled for some belgian fries!

15/12/2010 - 16/12/2010
After Inle lake I made my way back to Yangoon from where I would take the plane back to Bangkok. My Burmese days were over.
Absolutely overwhelmed by the kindness of the people, the beatiful landscapes in the north, the mysterious temples in Bagan, and much more.. this definetely asks for a sequel in the future. I do hope some drastic changes will happen in favour of the Burmese people, bur like Mr Bean or Mr Philosophy says: "nothing is permanent, there is only permanent change"


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

local fishermanlocal fisherman
local fisherman

with the famous inle technic, using the legs for rowing


Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb