Taktsang Palphug Monastery


Advertisement
Bhutan's flag
Asia » Bhutan » Paro
November 3rd 2013
Published: July 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 3rdNovember

We hit the road this morning for the 6hr trek that isTaktsang Palphug Monastery - <span> ‘Tigers Nest’.<span> I can’t <span> say I’ve been looking forward to this climb even though it is the reason for my wanting to travel to Bhutan. I have no doubt it will be worth it, I just wont enjoy the climb….I never enjoy the climb lol.

According to the legend, it is believed that the Guru Rinpocheflew to this location from Tibet on the back of a tigress.<span> This place was consecrated to tame the Tiger demon.<span> In one of the caves here, the Guru then performed meditation and emerged in eight incarnated forms manifestations and the place became holy.

As we drive out of Paro and round the next mountain, we view the temple perched precariously way on high in the mountains in the distance.

The car park is not half way up or even part way up.<span> It’s at the bottom!!! OMFG!

The monastery hangs on a cliff at 3120 metres (or 10,240 feet if you want it to sound really impressive!), and about 900 metres above the Paro Valley.



We set off together at first, but then as usual it becomes impossible for Shane to walk with me so he sets his sights on ahead.<span> He’s forgotten, as usual ,that he has the water so when I finally see him waiting in the distance for me he deservedly receives the stare of death.

Apparently, just around the corner, is the cafeteria resting point, where we can grab a tea and sit and acclimatize before we continue our climb.<span> Which freakin’ corner are they talking about I’d like to know??? <span> If you tell me it’s just around the corner, it better be the next bloody corner!<span> But no!!!!!!

After a bit over an hour we arrive at the cafe.<span> Shane already has a seat and a cup of tea and biscuits.<span> If I eat anything I think I’ll vomit!

When we finally reach the last lookout, the most amazing view sits before us at eye level.<span> This monastery is literally built on the side of a cliff, and to see it for myself after all this time leaves me speechless.<span> After another 500 steps down and 500 up, we are there.<span> Well Shane is already there, but that’s normal LOL.

The shrines are adorned with gold and ribbon, and the Tigers nest itself looks more than scary so I’m not climbing in there.<span> It’s a cavern that seems to fall out into thin air.

Instead Palden and I light 5 butter lamps to remember those close to us who have passed away.<span> It’s a very special moment.

500 steps down and up again to return and then we’re on the downhill slide all the way.<span> The ponies that carried the fat, lazy people up the hill are now also on their way down but they have gone crazy, bucking and kicking, nearly knocking me and another girl right in to next week!

The trip down seems to have taken twice as long as going up but much less strenuous.<span> Old man Golding is on his walking stick.<span> Apparently its due to ‘footballers knees’ LOL

What an amazing day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb