The Waiting Game


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
July 10th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well... Its over. I finally checked my bags into the counter and I am sitting here waiting for my flight to depart. Its been an emotional whirlwind the past few weeks that I have spent in Asia. I have had the most amazing time, and I owe a great deal of thanks to the Iqbals. They have been amazing hosts, without whom this trip would not have been possible.

Last night we watched the World Cup with most of the people in DOHS. Nabil was still under the weather so I went with Samai and Issam and their friends. They are really into football and go so excited about the game. There were a lot of people there and it was quite exciting.

Random fact of the day: In Muslim countries, they are unwilling to install toilets facing east/west because that direction points to Mecca. I wonder what other things are like that too.

I currently dont know where my debit card is, though I have a pretty strong idea that it is packed in my luggage. If it doesnt show up by the time I arrive in America Ill have to get a new card.

They have different yogurt in Bangladesh, its called Doi (pronounced doh-hee) and it is quite good. Especially good with fresh mangoes. It comes in pottery that is disposable. In America the same sort of pottery would be expensive, while here it is very cheap. Interesting how things have different values different places.

I will remember this place forever.

We went to the Liberation War Museum yesterday, and Zafar showed me a photo of his family; his father was serving in the armed forces, was abducted and shot by Pakistanis. Many millions of Bengalis died in the fighting, though few people in the west have heard of it. The whole Liberation war was tragic, and equally so Americas stance in support of the West Pakistanis. It is claimed that America is supporting the religious zealots in Bangladesh because doing so makes Pakistan happy and we need Pakistan's support. If so, we should be ashamed of ourselves. I hope that the elections will proceed fairly and I plan to follow the process through the online news.

Joi Bangla!


Advertisement



12th July 2006

World Cup Final
Hey Ian...hope u had fun watchin the game...too bad u missed the post game analysis in the rain...it was much fun! especially wen the italian fans hit the streets... :D:D:D..but then again, the french fans wouldn't hv enjoyed as much...anyways...hope u reached safe...too bad u were here for such a short time...coulda had more fun. It was fun while it lasted eh?
27th July 2006

hi
I've been enjoying your blog and wanted to say thanks and good luck in the future. Stephanie
14th October 2006

What a trip
Stephanie, I imagine this note will arrive after you have returned to England, but I just now saw your comment on my blog on Travelblog. We saw many of the same things in Ellora/Ajunta. Glancing at your photos I thought I was looking at my photos. India really is an amazing place, and I want to go back soon Ian

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb