Bangladesh - at last I made it!


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
August 31st 2010
Published: August 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Me on a rickshaw in Dhaka Me on a rickshaw in Dhaka Me on a rickshaw in Dhaka

This shot was taken outside Lalbag Fort. My Bangladeshi guide would join me on the ride.
The idea of visiting Bangladesh came into my mind after I was back home from Sri Lanka last February. I wanted to celebrate my birthday in a new country, so I booked my air tickets at once, ie 3 months before the trip. Unfortunately, I was sick and had to cancel the trip at the last minute. My air tickets for 4 flights Hanoi - Kuala Lumpur - Dhaka were non-refundable. I could change my departure date, but Air Asia charged me as much as I could buy new tickets, so I let my money go. This month, my English friend decided to sponsor me new air tickets and I chose a new route Hanoi - Bangkok - Dhaka. It was a short trip, only 5 days (from 25 to 29 August 2010), but this is also an interesting adventure of my life.

My first culture shock in Dhaka was traffic jam. The distance from the international airport to Hotel Pacific is only 16km, but it took me two and a half hours as my taxi was stuck in the traffic jam. Five lines of buses, cars, tuk tuks and rickshaws moved on a few meters, then all stopped and
A motorbike by the wallA motorbike by the wallA motorbike by the wall

There are only a few motorbikes in Dhaka. People often go by cars, buses, tuk tuk and rickshaws.
waited in vain. As the taxi had no air-con and all windows were opened, the smell of smoke and gasoline, plus humidity, was unbearable and I was thinking "I only want to get out of here!". Finally, I reached Hotel Pacific at 7pm. I talked to the local guys who were receptionists at the hotel that I needed a guide to show me around the city for 5-6 hours next day, and one of them said he could go with me. I didn't need a professional guide to explain history or so. I only needed someone to show me the way in order to save time.

Next day we left hotel at 9:30am. Taxi in Dhaka is not based on distance but time with the charge of 300 Taka or US$4.5 per hour. A couple of hours later, I decided to change to rickshaw as most of the time we were stuck in traffic jam. The first place my guide took me to see was Sadarghat river station and I liked this place very much, even though the river bank was not clean. I climbed up to the top of a ferry following my guide. The people here were so friendly and they smiled to me. We moved on to Pink Palace, but it was closed and we saw some policemen standing at the gate. We spent an hour at Lalbag Fort (an old Mughal complex dating from the 17th century). There is a museum at this fort and it was interesting to see British pistols on display. The buildings at this place were ruins, but the grass and flower garden made me feel relaxing. Hindu street with a temple was my last site, then we went to a card shop as I wanted to buy postcards. I heard about Old Dhaka and wanted to go there, but my guide said it was dirty and again traffic jam was our concern, so we decided to go back to the hotel. I was relieved to finish 3 rickshaw rides safely, if you could imagine the chaos of traffic in Dhaka.

Then I walked around the area near my hotel. A rickshaw driver in front of my hotel followed me to show me the way. When we were standing to talk in English, there was a crowd of about 20 men gathering to watch us with curiosity. At 6pm, I met with Mahmud, who is also a member of the Thorn Tree forum. Two months ago, he helped me get a hotel reservation letter, so that I could get a tourist visa to Bangladesh and this was one of the requirements from the Embassy. It was a short meeting, just to say hello. I presented him a small Vietnamese painting and also Vietnamese notes for his son.

So it was my exciting day in Dhaka (26/8/2010) and there were two people I would miss. The first one was the boy (photo No. 13) wearing orange shirt. I met him on the top of a ferry at Sadarghat river. He greeted me with a beautiful smile. Later I saw him again with other boys outside the river station. He ran back to see me, cleaned his hand on the shirt before shaking my hand. This really touched my heart. The second man was the one in the crowd of men who gathered to watch me talking to a rickshaw driver in front of my hotel. He was waiting for his friend, but later that man didn't come. This man speaks English very well. He bought me a bottle of water and then showed me around the market and mosque near my hotel. One more interesting coincidence was that I met again the immigration officer, who signed on my arrival stamp. So both my arrival and departure stamps were signed by him. This happened for the first time on all of my trips.

I would like to thank my English friend for sponsoring me new air tickets and other costs on this trip. When I canceled my trip two months ago, I thought perhaps it was my destiny that I would never make my way to Bangladesh. Thanks to your help, my dream of visiting the 17th country came true.

I have some more information about Dhaka as follows:

1. My visit was during the Ramadan period, so the muslims don't eat any food from early morning till 6:30pm. This year, the Ramadan lasts one month (from mid August to mid September). I saw my guide didn't eat and drink, while others still drank water. 95%!o(MISSING)f Bangladesh population are muslims. Pork is not eaten here, so you can choose chicken and beef.

2. There are not many people who can speak English. I asked taxi drivers "Can you speak English?". They replied "No".

3. You will see a lot of men everywhere. When our plane landed or going to take off, there were about 20 men standing next to the ladder watching guests. Same as on the streets, again most people are men. Sometimes I felt uncomfortable when so many people stared at me, but the great side was that everyone was ready to offer me a help if necessary. Especially, if beggars approached me, they always asked them to go away and leave me alone.

4. I met only two foreigners in Dhaka, an old Japanese man and a young American boy at my hotel. I also was the only foreigner on my flights to/from Bangkok. Other passengers are from the Indian Subcontinent. Expect you will get lots of attention from locals if you are a foreign girl and travel alone.

5. Friday and Saturday are weekend in Bangladesh and people work from Sunday to Thursday. After 6pm on Thursday, streets suddenly became quiet and no more traffic jam as people went home for the weekend. It was interesting to see this difference. When I went back to the airport on Friday morning, it took me only 40 minutes.

6. There are 3 airlines operating on the route from Bangkok to Dhaka. They are GMG Airlines, Biman Bangladesh and Thai Airways. I flew on GMG Airlines which is also a Bangladesh airlines.

7. Taxi from the international airport to Hotel Pacific costs 600 Taka. If you hire a taxi to see around the city, it costs 300 Taka per hour. Rickshaw is very cheap even though it's a very hard work for drivers. According to Lonely Planet information, there are more than 600,000 rickshaws in Dhaka. Auto-rickshaw (or tuk tuk) is another choice. I hired my unprofessional guide at 100 Taka per hour (69 Taka = US$1). In general, it's pretty cheap to travel in Bangladesh.

8. Despite horrendous traffic and air pollution, Dhaka is a great place for photography, especially the area around Sadarghat river station. Not only children and people with beautiful smiles, you can see some men carrying big baskets of banana on their heads, or an alley where men working on sewing machine, trucks with pineapples, and ladies with colorful traditional dresses sitting on the rickshaws etc.

After visiting 4 countries in the Indian
Happy people - I love their smilesHappy people - I love their smilesHappy people - I love their smiles

Outside Pink Palace in Dhaka.
Subcontinent (India, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh), it may take me a long time until I go back to this region. I would like to see Bhutan, but the government requires every tourist to spend US$250 per day and have to book a tour with a local agent. Hopefully, someday they will change the policy and open the door, so that everyone can easily go there.

Dhaka - Ngày 25, 26 & 27/8/2010

Ý tưởng đến thăm Bangladesh chợt đến trong tâm trí tôi sau chuyến đi Sri Lanka hồi tháng 2 vừa qua. Tôi muốn được đón sinh nhật của mình ở một đất nước mà tôi chưa từng đến, vì vậy nên tôi đặt ngay vé máy bay đi Hà Nội - Kuala Lumpur - Dhaka, tức là 3 tháng trước chuyến đi. Khi đã xin được visa và gần đến ngày khởi hành thì tôi lại bị ốm và phải huỷ bỏ chuyến đi này. Vé máy bay của tôi không thể hoàn lại tiền, mặc dù có thể đổi ngày được, nhưng hãng hàng không giá rẻ Air Asia tính phí thay đổi rất nhiều, gần bằng số tiền mà tôi có thể mua được một chiếc vé máy bay mới. Tôi quyết định bỏ luôn chiếc vé này và chấp nhận mất toàn bộ số tiền đó.

Hai tháng sau, một người bạn rất tốt của tôi là người Anh Quốc đã quyết định tài trợ cho tôi vé máy bay mới và tôi chọn một tuyến đường khác là Hà Nội - Bangkok - Dhaka. Chuyến đi của tôi kéo dài 5 ngày (từ ngày 25 đến ngày 29/8/2010). Mặc dù chuyến đi ngắn ngủi, nhưng những gì mà tôi đã trải qua cũng là những kỷ niệm rất thú vị trong cuộc đời tôi.

Cảm giác đầu tiên của tôi về Dhaka là tắc nghẽn giao thông trầm trọng. Từ sân bay quốc tế về khách sạn Hotel Pacific chỉ có 16km, mà taxi của tôi phải đi mất 2 tiếng rưỡi đồng hồ. 5 hàng xe buýt, xe ô tô và tuk tuk nhích lên được vài mét, rồi tất cả lại dừng lại và chờ đợi trong vô vọng, cứ như vậy hàng tiếng đồng hồ. Vì taxi ở đây không có điều hoà và tất cả các cửa sổ đều mở, nên mùi khói xe làm cho tôi ngạt thở. Lúc này tôi chỉ muốn thoát ra khỏi đây. Cuối cùng đến 7 giờ tối thì tôi cũng đến được khách sạn. Một ngày mệt nhoài, phải thức dậy sớm, ra sân bay từ 6 sáng, bay Hà Nội - Bangkok, chờ 4 tiếng đồng hồ nối chuyến bay, bay đến Dhaka rồi vật lộn với tắc nghẽn giao thông để cuối cùng cũng có được một căn phòng khách sạn và nghỉ ngơi. Khu vực quanh khách sạn rất tối, nên tôi không thể ra ngoài đường được. Trò chuyện với mấy cậu lễ tân khách sạn, tôi nói là cần một người dẫn đường giúp tôi thăm quan thành phố trong vòng 5-6 giờ. Tôi không cần hướng dẫn viên chuyên nghiệp để giải thích về lịch sử mà chỉ cần giúp tôi tiết kiệm thời gian tìm đường. Một trong số các cậu bé này tên là Jamal đồng ý giúp tôi với chi phí là 100 Taka một giờ. Tổng số giờ mà tôi đi cùng cậu ngày hôm sau là gần 5 giờ và cậu đã giúp đỡ tôi trong rất nhiều việc.

Sáng hôm sau, chúng tôi đến thăm
A rickshaw in DhakaA rickshaw in DhakaA rickshaw in Dhaka

Outside the Pink Palace in Dhaka
bến phà qua sông Sadarghat. Ở đây cũng phải mua vé mất 4 Taka. Đi qua một chiếc cầu nhỏ, chúng tôi ra tới bờ sông và ở đây có một hàng những chiếc phà và tàu thủy rất lớn. Jamal dẫn tôi lên tầng trên cùng của một chiếc phà và từ đây chúng tôi có thể nhìn thấy toàn cảnh dòng sông Sadarghat. Sau đó, chúng tôi đi xuống vì phà sắp khởi hành. Có những chiếc thuyền nhỏ cập sát bờ và Jamal hỏi tôi có muốn đi qua sông bằng chiếc thuyền này không. Tôi nói là tôi không muốn đi vì trông chúng rủi ro quá, vả lại tôi cũng không có nhiều thời gian. Mọi người ở đây rất thân thiện, họ nhìn tôi với ánh mắt tò mò và mỉm cười với tôi. Tôi rất thích nơi này, mặc dù bờ sông không sạch lắm, có chỗ thì đầy rác và một số người thì đang tắm ở đó. Quang cảnh bên ngoài bến sông rất đông đúc với các loại xe cộ và hình ảnh này là phổ biến ở Dhaka.

Chúng tôi đi tiếp đến cung điện Pink Palace, nhưng
A temple on Hindu streetA temple on Hindu streetA temple on Hindu street

Hindu people live in this area.
hôm nay ở đây đóng cửa và tôi nhìn thấy có nhiều cảnh sát đứng ở ngoài cổng. Tôi xin phép họ cho chụp hình và họ đồng ý. Con đường đến pháo đài Lalbag Fort chật hẹp và xe taxi của chúng tôi vật lộn trong tắc nghẽn với một hàng dài xe đạp kéo (rickshaw). Ở Dhaka có hơn 600,000 xe đạp kéo, cộng thêm tuk tuk (ở đây loại xe này có cửa là lưới sắt nên trông như chiếc chuồng). Xe taxi của tôi nhích từng chút một và tôi cảm thấy sốt ruột, vì mỗi giờ trôi qua, tôi bị tính phí thuê xe là 300 Taka (4.5 US$), mà phần lớn thời gian là ngồi trên xe. Khi đến Lalbag Fort, tôi quyết định không thuê taxi nữa mà đi bằng xe đạp kéo và đây là một quyết định đúng đắn. Chúng tôi dành nhiều thời gian thăm quan pháo đài cổ được xây dựng từ thế kỷ 17 dười thời Mughal và hiện giờ các công trình ở đây chỉ còn là các phế tích. Trong một gian phòng nhỏ có trưng bày các loại vũ khí và có cả các khẩu
Friendly people I met on a ferryFriendly people I met on a ferryFriendly people I met on a ferry

I climbed up one of the ferries at Sadarghat river following my guide. These guys were very friendly to me, especially the boy wearing orange shirt. Later I met him again outside the river station and he shook my hand.
súng của người Anh Quốc. Thảm cỏ xanh mướt và những vườn hoa ở đây làm cho tôi có cảm giác thư thái, khác hẳn với cảnh ồn ào náo nhiệt và hỗn loạn ở bên ngoài đường.

Hindu street là khu vực nơi những người Hindu ở Dhaka sinh sống. Chúng tôi tới thăm một ngôi đền của người Hindu. Ngôi đền này trông khá mới và sơn màu loè loẹt. Rút kinh nghiệm, chúng tôi chỉ thuê xe đạp kéo từng chặng một và như vậy thuận lợi hơn rất nhiều. Đạp xe này rất cực mà thu nhập thì rất thấp. Người lái xe phải nhổm lên gần như là đứng để chở hai người ngồi sau, mà tiền công thì chỉ vài chục Taka, chưa đến 1 USD. Vì tôi muốn mua bưu ảnh, Jamal dẫn tôi tới Bưu điện thành phố, nhưng ở đây không bán bưu ảnh và chúng tôi phải đến một cửa hàng bán các loại card. Trên đường đi, chúng tôi dừng lại xem người ta bày bán các đồ gỗ (chủ yếu là lọ hoa) và đồ gốm sứ trên vỉa hè. Lúc này là khoảng 2-3 giờ chiều,
Pink PalacePink PalacePink Palace

It was closed on the day I visited. There were some policemen at the site and I didn't know the reason.
nhưng giao thông cũng tắc nghẽn nặng. Cuối cùng, sau 3 chặng đi bằng xe đạp kéo, tôi về đến khách sạn an toàn và thở phào nhẹ nhõm. Nếu bạn hình dung được giao thông hỗn loạn ở Dhaka va chiếc xe đạp kéo của bạn chen chúc trong biển xe cộ, chỉ cần bánh xe trước va quệt ở đâu thì bạn có thể bị ngã giập mặt. Còn lúc đi bộ thì cũng phải cẩn thận, vì bánh xe này có thể đè lên chân bạn vì quá chật chội và đông đúc. Thực ra, tôi muốn đi cả khu vực Old Dhaka, nhưng Jamal nói là chỗ đó cách xa 7km, rất nghèo và bẩn nữa, nên chúng tôi quyết định không đến đó, vì sợ là sẽ lại bị kẹt trong tắc nghẽn giao thông, nhất là sắp đến giờ cao điểm.

Sau khi nghỉ ngơi một lát, tôi đi ra phố và đi vòng quanh khu vực gần khách sạn. Một ông già lái xe đạp kéo ở phía trước cửa khách sạn đi theo tôi và mặc dù tôi không nói chuyện, ông vẫn kiên trì đi theo để chỉ đường cho tôi. Cuối cùng, chúng tôi cũng nói chuyện khi đã quay về trước cửa khách sạn. Rất nhiều người hiếu kỳ đi qua dừng lại xem chúng tôi nói chuyện bằng tiếng Anh, chẳng mấy chốc đã có một đám đông, khoảng hơn 20 người, chủ yếu là đàn ông. Ông già thuyết phục tôi đến Old Dhaka, chưa đến 7km, nhưng tôi không muốn đi xe đạp kéo nữa. Hơn nữa, tôi sẽ gặp Mahmud vào lúc 6 giờ. Mahmud là một thành viên trên Thorn Tree forum và anh đã giúp tôi có thư đặt phòng khách sạn hồi tháng 6 để tôi có thể xin visa. Đúng 6 giờ, tôi gặp Mahmud vài phút, chỉ để chào và tặng cho anh món quà nhỏ (một bức ảnh gỗ của Việt Nam có hình cô gái mặc áo dài và tiên giấy cho con trai anh sưu tập) để cảm ơn anh đã giúp đỡ tôi.

Vì ngày thứ 6 và thứ 7 là ngày nghỉ ở Bangladesh (ở đây người ta làm việc từ chủ nhật đến thứ năm), nên đến sau 6 giờ chiều ngày thứ 5 là mọi người đã về nhà và đường phố đột nhiên trở nên vắng lặng và thưa thớt người qua lại. Thật thú vị khi nhìn thấy sự khác biệt này, khi mà vừa mới trước đó còn chật cứng người và xe cộ. Ngày hôm sau, tôi ra sân bay cũng dễ dàng hơn và chỉ mất khoảng 40 phút. Người nhân viên làm thủ tục xuất cảnh cho tôi cũng chính là người đã đóng dầu và ký tên trên con dấu nhập cảnh của tôi. Đây là một sự trùng hợp thú vị mà tôi chưa bao giờ trải qua, vì thường là có nhiều bàn làm thủ tục khác nhau.

95% dân số Bangladesh là người đạo Hồi và thời gian tôi đến Dhaka là trùng với tháng ăn chay Ramadan (từ giữa tháng 8 đến giữa tháng 9). Mọi người không ăn gì từ sáng sớm đến 6 giờ rưỡi chiều. Jamal không hề ăn và uống gì khi đi cùng tôi, mặc dù tôi thấy có người hồi giáo khác vẫn được uống nước. Cậu nói là đạo của cậu nghiêm khắc hơn. Trong góc phòng ăn ở khách sạn, mấy người nhân viên làm lễ và tôi thấy họ cứ đứng lên rồi lại quỳ xuống.

Tiếng Anh ở đây cũng không được sử dụng rộng rãi. Bằng chứng là chẳng có mấy người biết nói tiếng Anh. Tôi cũng là khách du lịch duy nhất trên hai chuyến bay Bangkok - Dhaka - Bangkok. Ở Dhaka, tôi cũng chỉ gặp hai người nước ngoài là người Nhật và Mỹ. Chỗ nào ở Dhaka cũng thấy toàn đàn ông, kể cả lúc máy bay hạ cánh hay cất cánh cũng có khoảng hai chục người đàn ông đứng dưới cầu thang máy bay, ngoài đường cũng vậy. Đôi lúc tôi cảm thấy không thoải mái khi mọi người nhìn mình chằm chằm, nhưng cũng có khi lại tốt vì họ sẵn sàng giúp đỡ nếu tôi cần gì đó, hoặc họ nói gì đó với những người ăn xin và những người này sau đó bỏ đi và không xin tiền tôi nữa. Nhìn chung, mọi người rất thân thiện và tôi cảm thấy hoàn toàn tự tin khi đi du lịch một mình ở đây.

Có hai người mà tôi sẽ nhớ đến trong chuyến đi này. Đó là cậu bé mặc áo màu da cam ở
Two gardeners at Lalbag FortTwo gardeners at Lalbag FortTwo gardeners at Lalbag Fort

They smiled when I showed them their photo on my camera.
bức ảnh số 13. Tôi gặp cậu khi leo lên tầng trên cùng của một chiếc phà trên sông Sadarghat. Cậu bé chào đón tôi với nụ cười mà tôi rất ấn tượng. Sau đó, tôi nhìn thấy cậu đi cùng một nhóm các cậu bé khác ở bên ngoài bến tàu. Cậu chạy lại gặp tôi, chùi tay lên áo cho sạch trước khi chìa tay ra để bắt tay tôi. Người thứ hai là một người đàn ông trong đám đông đứng xem tôi nói chuyện với người lái xe đạp kéo ở trước cửa khách sạn. Anh đang đứng chờ bạn nhưng bạn lại không đến. Anh nói tiếng Anh rất tốt. Anh mua nước mời tôi uống và dẫn tôi thăm quan khu chợ và nhà thờ hồi giáo cũng như sân vận động ở gần khách sạn. Tôi đã gặp rất nhiều người thú vị chỉ trong một ngày ở Dhaka.

Mặc dù giao thông hỗn loạn và tắc nghẽn trầm trọng, cũng như ô nhiễm không khí, nhưng Dhaka vẫn là một nơi mà bạn có thể chụp được những bức ảnh rất đẹp. Dọc theo bờ sông, bạn sẽ bắt gặp những người đàn ông với một chiếc thúng to đựng chuối ở trên đầu, hay một dãy phố nhỏ với những người đàn ông đang khâu vá bằng máy, những người phụ nữ trong trang phục truyền thống nhiều màu sắc ngồi trên những chiếc xe đạp kéo, và những nụ cười rạng rỡ và tràn đầy hạnh phúc mà bạn sẽ không bao giờ quên được.

Để xin visa đi du lịch Bangladesh, bạn phải đệ trình khá nhiều giấy tờ. Đầu tiên là điền vào 2 forms với ảnh, copy vé máy bay, sau đó là chứng nhận của công an địa phương (với bản dịch tiếng Anh) hoặc chứng nhận của công ty nơi bạn làm việc, tiếp đến là thư đặt phòng khách sạn ở Dhaka. Trên trang web của Đại sứ quán thì chẳng ghi rõ ràng, nên tôi phải đến Đại sứ quán 3 lần mới lấy được visa, và mất bao nhiều email qua lại với Mahmud cùng sự giúp đỡ của anh, tôi mới có được thư đặt phòng khách sạn. Lệ phí visa là 25 US$. Bạn có thể bay qua Kuala Lumpur (Air Asia) hoặc qua Bangkok (GMG Airlines, Biman Bangladesh hoặc Thai Airways). Tôi chọn Hàng không GMG Airlines là một hãng hàng không của Bangladesh, vì có thể nối chuyến bay từ Hà Nội trong cùng ngày. Nhìn chung, chi phí du lịch ở Bangladesh rất rẻ. Taxi từ sân bay đến khách sạn là 600 Taka. Thuê taxi đi trong thành phố là 300 Taka một giờ. Thuê người dẫn đường thăm quan thì 100 Taka một giờ. Xe đạp kéo thì rất rẻ nhưng phải dũng cảm mới đi được. Tuk tuk là một sự lựa chọn khác. Tỷ giá là 69 Taka = 1 US$. Về đồ ăn thì ở đây người đạo hồi là chủ yếu, nên người ta không ăn thịt lợn, mà chỉ ăn thịt gà và thịt bò. Mặc dù tôi đã mang theo thuốc xịt chống muỗi, nhưng vẫn bị muỗi cắn vài lần.

Tôi xin cảm ơn bạn người Anh của tôi đã tài trợ cho tôi vé máy bay mới và các chi phí khác trong chuyến đi này. Hai tháng trước khi huỷ chuyến đi, tôi đã từng nghĩ có lẽ đó là số phận của tôi và tôi sẽ không bao giờ đến Bangladesh được. Nhờ có sự giúp đỡ này mà ước mơ đến thăm đất nước thứ 17 của tôi đã trở thành hiện thực.

Sau khi đã đến thăm 4 nước ở vùng Tiểu lục địa Ấn là Ấn Độ, Nepal, Sri Lanka và Bangladesh, có lẽ phải mất một thời gian dài nữa tôi mới quay trở lại khu vực này. Tôi rất muốn đến Bhutan, nhưng đất nước này yêu cầu mỗi khách du lịch phải tiêu 250 US$ một ngày và phải đặt tour với đại lý du lịch của họ. Hy vọng là một ngày nào đó, họ sẽ nới lỏng chính sách và mở cửa để khách du lịch dễ dàng đến thăm quan.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 43


Advertisement

Model of the Taj Mahal Model of the Taj Mahal
Model of the Taj Mahal

Wooden vases and other things on sale by Dhaka street
My guide in DhakaMy guide in Dhaka
My guide in Dhaka

He works at Hotel Pacific (Front Officer) and I hired him for 6 hours to see around Dhaka. It was great to have a local to show me around the city. He helped me visit 4 sites and find a card shop as I wanted to buy postcards.
Ouside Pink PalaceOuside Pink Palace
Ouside Pink Palace

There are many rickshaws outside the Pink Palace. They carry pineapples, banana etc.
A pink tuk tuk at parking siteA pink tuk tuk at parking site
A pink tuk tuk at parking site

Tuk tuks in Bangladesh have metal screen doors which are different with tuk tuks in other countries.
View of BangladeshView of Bangladesh
View of Bangladesh

Our plane is going to land in Dhaka.
Men gathered to see me talking to a localMen gathered to see me talking to a local
Men gathered to see me talking to a local

When I was standing in front of my hotel and talking to this rickshaw driver, many men gathered to watch us with curiosity.


31st August 2010

Bangladesh
Thanks for a very informative and interesting blog.
31st August 2010

It is wonderful that you made it to Bangladesh ... you are lucky to have such good friends. Thanks for such an intersting blog and sharing your photos. I don't think a lot of people think of visiting Bangladesh, but it looks like such an interesting place. You seem to have met some very nice people also ... good people attract good people. Take care and we hope you are well and happy.
31st August 2010

India
I am so glad you could visit India. I suppose it´s your first trip to India, because I think India needs to be discovered slowly and deeply. Very good pictures. I enjoyed reading it. Love from Argentina, Graciela.
31st August 2010

Amazing!
31st August 2010

Congratulations!
Dear TheRedRiver, I was sad to read your earlier blog regarding trip cancellation due to illness. As a frequent traveler like you, I know how difficult it is to call off a trip after months of planning not to mention the heavy investment on airfares, visa, and hotel reservations which will turn out to be losses. Anyhow, when I read your blog today, I am so happy that you finally made it to Bangladesh and for this reason you deserve no less than my sincere congratulations! By the way, I want to take this opportunity to thank you for the interesting blogs and tips you have written about Vietnam. The wealth of information given in your numerous blogs made it easier for me to plan my trips to your country. Since my first solo travel in May 2008 I have already made four trips to Vietnam together with my nephew and three nieces. I can relate to your experience of traveling alone, hence, I make it a point to travel with family members. Moreover, I am happy to read your positive remarks about the Philippines. I am glad you enjoyed your sojourn in my home country. Best regards, Frankie
31st August 2010

Brings back memories of my visit there back in April. Dhaka is a wonderful place!
1st September 2010

Bangladesh
You look healthy with much more curious eyes to go out again!
1st September 2010

An opportune time
Hanoi Girl, There is truly an opportune time for everything. Perhaps you made it to Bangladesh in time for the Holy Month of Ramadan to gain some insights on how Muslims live during their season of fasting. By the way, you look great in that casual attire. This is the first time I see you not wearing Ao-Dai. First I fell in love with Vietnam, then after reading your thoughts and travel experiences I fell in love with your blogs. You are a prolific writer who have captured the cadence of the English language. I see beauty in form and in substance not only in all your blogs but as well as in your person. Indeed, you are beautiful inside and out. After reading most of your blogs I discovered that there are so many things we have in common. we share the same passion for travel, people, places and events. With all honesty I find you a very interesting person and I am now your biggest fan. I look forward to the opportunity of meeting you in my future trips to Vietnam. Sincerely, Frankie
22nd December 2010

Hi, nice blog, just to add a little bit is that Ramadan rotates around the year as Islamic calendar us according to lunar cycle. Therefore it will not stick to only in aug-sep, depending on when you are planning to travel always check!! It can be a bit inconvenient for foreigners to find food during this month as eating outside in public view is regarded highly immoral during this month!! Anyway, thanks again for sharing your fabulous experiences in Dhaka Cheerio nature_Boy

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb