BRAC - Another Wonderful Experience


Advertisement
Bangladesh's flag
Asia » Bangladesh » Dhaka
December 6th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have now enterred a new and very different phase of my trip. I have moved to be with BRAC - the largest NGO in the world and the second largest microcredit organizaion in the world. BRAC has a very wholistic approach and includes large components of Heath Care and Education along with legal support of the poor and other humanitarian services. They have a very different program from Grameen for the Ultra Poor and that was the original reason that I have come to BRAC. Anne Hastings of Fonkoze had told me of this program that she is using in Haiti and she was kind enough to connect me with these very hospitable people. Rabeya, who heads the Ultra Poor Program of BRAC has visited Fonkoze twice and told me of the wonderful work that Anne is doing in Haiti. Rabeya told me of how much poorer the people of Haiti are - particularly in the villages where there is no government and no infastructure. BRAC has one of their people in Haiti for nine months assisting Anne.

BRAC's Chairman and Founder is Fazle Hasan Abed. One of the BRAC employees who had also worked closely with Professor Yunus describes Yunus as the Inspirational Development genius of microcredit and Abed as the operational management genius of microcredit. I am told that I will have the privelege of having a meeting with Mr. Abed some time today,

The Grameen program was truly a dialogue between 20 of us from all over the world and Grameen management. Being with 20 other dialoguers - each of which have rich experiences was very special. At BRAC I am alone and now have the opportunity to personally interview some of the great leaders of the microcredit world. I can listen to their stories and ask them my own questions (in the dialogue it was not possible to get much personal attention or ask a series of questions). Yesterday I had three one on one sessions for 1.5 hours each. Their english is excellent and I was able to quickly get my questions answered. I am most interested in the differences between the Grameen and BRAC programs and the reasons that BRAC has chosen as they have. BRAC has a very large research division. I won't go through the differences here - as I am aware that most of you are more interested in other aspects of my trip.

I am receiving very special personal support from my host Rozina who has taken care of all of my custom arrangements and requests (I am praying that she has been able to take care of my two requests for when I go to the field - a relatively soft bed and food without spice). The head of the microcredit program asked what I was doing on Friday (their holy day) and when I told him I did not have plans - he had Rozina arrange for a driver and guide to show me Dhaka and their shops for 10 hours on Friday - at BRAC's expense. When I am in the village I will be hosted througout by the branch managers. My sense is that BRAC has a strong emphasis on their people learning english - which is most helpful.

They have been very interested in my story and are delighted that I have come to visit them alone and at my own expense. They have significant operations in Uganda and we are talking about specific ways that we can work together.

I am staying in the BRAC Inn which is located within the BRAC Center which is also their headquarters. My room is very nice and everything (including the Internet) works very well. There is a BRAC Restaurant with excellent food.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



6th December 2007

Differences
Marty, I am interested in really understanding the differences between the two lenders, Barac and Gramen. Sounds as if it is more on a philosophical level, as they both want to help lift people up to a better standard of living. Glad you are having the 'One-on One' as that will give you greater understanding. Just amazing, this whole journey. Did you get your request? "softer bed" and food without spice? Lynn
8th December 2007

BRAC center
MARTY, Is that tall building owned by BRAC or are they renting?
8th December 2007

Your meeting with BRAC
Thank you for sharing BRAC's approach. It sound like they would be more ideal for what we apre planning to do in Miseebe and the surrounding communities. I am especially interested in learning how they intend to make health care a sustainable approach in Eastern Uganda where they are heavily invested. I am more intersted in knowing the evaluation techniques they use before they go into a village. ANy information you can get on that will be very helpful. Also how they eveluate their borrowers, what tools? See if you can get their monitoring and evaluation instruments. I am also intested in knowing how they count beneficiaries of their program. Counting beneficiaries is a very tricky topic in development.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb