Shakespeare Country


Advertisement
Antarctica » Temp
April 16th 2013
Published: April 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

It's been a while since my last blog and I'm afraid this one won't be too exciting. I've been taking it easy, haven't done much since January! I hope everyone had a lovely Easter break. I spent Easter sunday cooking a roast lunch with Jackie, Aunty Denise and Uncle Leon. It was really lovely to spend the day with some family and see a few who I haven't seen for a while!

Recently I went and spent the day in Stratford-upon-Avon, better known as the birthplace of Shakespeare. It is about a 2hour train ride from London so it was quite a long day but well worth it. The weather is starting to warm up so we had a cool day, with a little bit of rain in the late afternoon which I guess wasn't too bad as we were ready to head home by then anyway. It is a very cute little town, and clearly well maintained. They must put all the money spent by tourists back into the upkeep as the gardens, parks and attractions were all very well kept. We saw Shakespeare's birthplace, and final resting place, as well as Anne Hathaway's house. Everything was within easy walking distance and there were a lot of very dainty shops. My favourite was the Peter Rabbit store, which had all sorts of books and toys for all of Beatrix Potter's characters.

Well I said it was going to be a short one. Thank you to everyone who sent cards/money/gifts all the way from Australia for my birthday. I am a very lucky girl to have such wonderful family and friends back home. Those in London made it a very memorable day. I had to work but was treated to a lot of cake and a lovely dinner again with Jackie, Aunty Denise and Uncle Leon. It was bizarre to be away from Ashleigh, but I hear she had an amazing birthday that she didn't have to share!

Next trip away is not until June so you will probably have to wait until then for more stories and photos.

Much love x


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement











Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb