Cape Coast


Advertisement
Africa
July 5th 2006
Published: July 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Go, tourists:)Go, tourists:)Go, tourists:)

I am so thankful for Anna (who is 16-yrs-old and from the U.S.) and Anne (who is from Kenya) who I met at the clinic...they are awesome gals to hang and travel with:)
Hi, friends! Hope you are all doing terrific! Today I thought I'd post some random pictures as well as the pictures from my recent travels to Cape Coast. The best thing about working monday-friday is that the weekends are free for traveling😊 There was a group of six of us and we traveled on an AIR-CONDITIONED bus (wow, traveling in luxury;-)...of course, the bus didn't leave until 3 hours after it was supposed to, but that's to be expected when it's Ghana Man Time (GMT)..yes, they actually say that here;-) Anyways, it was a good trip...we traveled to see the slave castles and to Kakum National Park...Kakum is one of only four national parks that has a canopy walk over the forest and it is well-worth seeing! I am posting some of the pictures below...
Hope you all are well!!
Peace,
Katie 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Elmina CastleElmina Castle
Elmina Castle

This is one of the slave castles in Ghana..we didn't go in this castle but we did tour Cape Coast Castle. The irony of the situation is that while huge atrocities were happening downstairs with the slaves, people were singing praises in the church upstairs. Even though touring the castle gave me an eery feeling as I heard the stories and stood where so many people were tortured and killed, it was a very educational and eye-opening experience.
"Door of No Return""Door of No Return"
"Door of No Return"

The last thing the slaves saw before being sold or killed. Now on the other side, a sign has been added "The Door of Return"
Hanging on tightHanging on tight
Hanging on tight

Let's just say this is kind of a fake smile as I was simultaneously clutching the rope very tightly and overcoming my fear of heights:)..it didn't help that my friend Anne thought it was fun to swing the canopy while we were on it:) :) Hey, for a girl who used to sob everytime on a ferris-wheel, I think I've come far:)
View from the CanopyView from the Canopy
View from the Canopy

Whoa, don't look down;-)
Cute kiddos at the talent competitionCute kiddos at the talent competition
Cute kiddos at the talent competition

One of the programs I recently helped the clinic with was an HIV/AIDS educational talent show...it was amazing to see the African children sing, act, and dance as they showed what they had learned about HIV/AIDS, discrimination, and stigma. And I couldn't resist taking a picture of the school children in their cute uniforms:)...no matter if the school is public or private, everyone here wears uniforms...and the girls always cut their hair very short until they finish school...can't blame them with this heat!:)
"Home-sweet-home""Home-sweet-home"
"Home-sweet-home"

I am living in one of the rooms in this complex:) My sister will be staying here for a week in July as well---sooo excited for that:) As you can see, people don't have to worry about cutting grass:)
My neighborsMy neighbors
My neighbors

This is the couple that lives next door...they just came home from a wedding with their matching outfits! (Apparently, it's much cheaper to get clothes made than to buy them in shops already made) They are amazing people (she is a doctor and he is a banker...I think they are the most educated people around) and they have taught me so much about Ghana!


5th July 2006

hi
hi how u doing? i just got ur site from one of ur friend, and am very happy about that, will talk to u later bye, maslauren@hotmail.com. reply is needed
6th July 2006

Fourth of July
Katie: I am glad to hear from you always. I hope you are safe. I admire your willingness to overcome fears (ferris wheels, etc) The Child Life Dept at SLCH did a carnival for the kids at SLCH yesterday. It was, as always, an eye opening experience. We take so much for granted when it comes to our health. Be safe. I'm glad there are a few buddies to hang with. I saw Gail walking across campus this morning. I'll have to connect with her re: your blog. Be good to yourself and keep communicating.
14th July 2006

Hi
Katie - I've enjoyed reading your blogs so far. Hope all is going well! Keep up the great work~

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb