Day by day :)


Advertisement
Ghana's flag
Africa » Ghana » Greater Accra » Accra
July 14th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Celine DionCeline DionCeline Dion

I know I've mentioned this but I still have to laugh when I hear young guys belting out Celine Dion songs and when they say she is their favorite singer...indeed, she is HUGE here!:) My pal Kwesi borrowed this CD from a friend (most people I know here just listen to the radio) and he has taken a liking to my portable CD player:)
Hello, friends! I hope you are all well and enjoying your summers! Things are going good here in Accra...with each day that passes I find myself getting a little more used to Ghana and I find that even the things that annoyed me at first (such as the wild world of the outdoor markets, the somewhat chaotic trotros, etc) have their own unique charm to them. I am posting some pictures below of friends that I have met, our quick trip to Kumasi, and some pictures from the AIDS clinic where I am everyday. Of course, there are always challenges....I really think everyone should experience once in life how it feels to be a minority....it is definitely an eye-opening experience that forces you to grow a bit! Everything I do here is a new cultural experience---from bartering at the outdoor market for food, to washing my clothes outside, to even going to the bathroom (ha--sorry, but I just have to mention this because just about every place we go we must pay to use the restroom...and toilet paper costs extra😊...I will no longer complain about gross bathrooms in the US....haha...I won't go more into detail but my friends and I
Kumasi trotro stationKumasi trotro stationKumasi trotro station

This is the largest trotro station I have seen yet! It is chaotic for tourists trying to find the right trotro but the locals all know exactly where to go...so needless to say we definitely never hesitate to ask for directions!:)
have some funny stories about this!😊

Anyways, I am so thankful for the friends that I have met here and continue to meet everyday. For once, I am soo thankful that I love talking to random people😊...because I have met so many awesome Ghanaians and fellow volunteers/travel buddies this way. I am surrounded by great people and since I know a few volunteers who have moved their flight to go home early (since they are lonely...by no fault of their own, but it has unfortunately been harder for them to meet people where they are living), I am sooo grateful for the friends I have made! I have really come to believe that regardless of where one is traveling or going, people are people....despite the many cultural differences, there are soo many commonalities amongst humans that allow us to make friends no matter where we go! (is that awesome or what?!) I'm not trying to get sentimental, but I am just so grateful that even though I came alone and not with a program or am not living with a family that things have worked out this well!

Okay, I'll stop gabbing, but please know that
Hangin with some obrunis;-)Hangin with some obrunis;-)Hangin with some obrunis;-)

All of these gals have gone back to the U.S. now but it was great to meet them and travel with them for a bit! They range from high school age to med students from Harvard...none of us knew eachother before coming but somehow found one another--I am thankful for the time I had with them!
I am thinking of you all and wishing you well! Here are some various pictures.....



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The health clinicThe health clinic
The health clinic

These are some of my buds from the health clinic...it is a great place to be and I am learning a ton!
LaticiaLaticia
Laticia

This is my favorite woman at the clinic...and just so you HIPPAA police know (hehe:), I have her (and the clinic's) permission to put her on my site:) (social work school has trained me to be very careful of this!:) Laticia is an amazing woman who is very sick with tuberculosis and AIDS--despite her illness, she always seems to be in amazing spirits. In this picture, she is busy making bead necklaces to sell to people passing by the clinic....the clinic has organized a "bead group" consisting of those living with AIDS who make and sell necklaces to help pay for their treatment. It is a good income generating activity, as well as a good way to empower the patients!
African kids are soooo cute!!!African kids are soooo cute!!!
African kids are soooo cute!!!

While traveling through a village near Kumasi, these children followed us, wanting to see the "obrunis" traveling through:)...are they adorable or what?!!! Some of the kids here will actually salute us when we are passing by--a very odd phenomenon!
AdwoaAdwoa
Adwoa

Adwoa is famous around the clinic...she is the poster child for the AIDS clinic! Her story is found on the clinic's website, their newsletters, everywhere and they have said it is okay to share..Adwoa is age 5, has HIV/AIDS and was very malnourished..her mother dropped her at the clinic when she was a baby due to the fact that she could not care for her. Adwoa lives at the clinic and has many friends/caregivers around!
Dr. Naa and her baby:)Dr. Naa and her baby:)
Dr. Naa and her baby:)

This woman is seriously my heroine:)...she is incredible. She is the doctor at the clinic and hospice and she just had this beautiful baby boy 4 days ago. (By the way, women here do not use pain killers when they give birth...they are very strong and impressive women) Dr. Naa came to work the day after she had her baby and now brings him to work, where he is watched by the staff and volunteers. She and her husband are the ones who started the AIDS clinic...Dr. Naa provides such compassionate medical care and she works so hard advocating for patients..amazing woman!
My gal palsMy gal pals
My gal pals

The night before these volunteers flew back to the U.S., we had to go out on the town for ice cream:) Once again, these gals are amazing folks who are dedicated to international social issues...I cannot wait to see how they will change the world!:)
Kakum National ParkKakum National Park
Kakum National Park

Just another beautiful scenery shot of Kakum National Park on the canopy walk!:)


15th July 2006

I'm so jealous!
I get so envious when I read your blog and see your pictures. Katie, when you were in Kumasi and took the picture of the tro tro station you were very close to where my African family lives! It is about three blocks! I have seen that station so often! I guarantee you, you are going to come back a different person, with a different perspective on life for sure! You come to really know what is really valuable in life and what isn't important. I how have exactly 10 and 1/2 months until I go back to Ghana, but a three year wait to return is way too long. Do you still have my friend Issah's phone number? He would be thrilled if you would give him a call. he is the nicest guy ever. I also took my cd player and cd's to Ghana, and once I got there I never used it because one of the boys always was listening to it. They just loved it. Have you realized yet that Kenny Rogers, Don Williams, Dolly Parton and Celine are the favorites of most Ghanaians! I think that is so funny! I'm so happy you are having all these wonderful experiences! I love hearing about them and seeing your pictures. Arent the little kids the cutest ever! If you have a chance see if you can visit a pre school. I did and it was a beautiful experience! Probably the most memorable of all the things I did there. Take care and I look forward to your next blog.
15th July 2006

Incommunicado
Katie: I began to worry when I didn't hear from you for awhile. Good to hear the stories, see the clinic, and yes, you also will make great changes in the world-you already have! Good that you are remembering your HIPPA rules and regs. They will serve you well worldwide. I got an email from Dave Skillman who is finishing his retreat and will return home shortly. He is all about a new video on vocations that I have been unable to access by computer. Father Glade leaves for Italy this week and Katie Press has taken Michael Havercamp's job at AI. Change is good... Stay in communication. God loves you an so do your friends in STL. Donna
16th July 2006

guapa!!!
Hey Katie, What's up? I like your pictures a lot. I did get a digital camera so if I figure out how to send you some I will (my generation) is not nearly as technologically savvy as yours :) So you are having fun? Today Silvestre and I bought our tickets--we will arrive on July 20th at 10pm in Accra (i think this is too late for you to come to the airport so we'll discuss. The return flight is set for July 27th (Thursday) at 11pm so again we'll take a taxi!! If it's still okay we will stay in the volunteer house (you and me together, and Silvestre in your room). I will call you as soon as I can to make more arrangements. I love you with all my heart oburuni:) Love, Kelly
16th July 2006

Ghana Experience
I was in Ghana for three years 30 years ago when in the Peace Corps. It sounds the same ! I LOVED Ghana and still miss it . Your blog is wonderful . I love the way you appreciate the country and the people.
16th July 2006

question
I have a small request. Please write about tro tro travel times to Cape Coast, Kumasi, Tema, etc. This information would be very helpful to me as I am coming to Accra in January for four months and I am currently trying to plan. Thanks.
17th July 2006

Amazing!
Hello Katie, It sounds like you are having an amazing, wonderful learning experience and challenges for growth while in Ghana. I am very glad you are doing well and learning lots. The people's lives you are touching and being touched by will stay with you forever. Good luck in your future endeavors and travels while in Ghana. I will continue to keep you and all the workers and patients of the AIDS clinic in prayers. Incredible difference you are making! Lots of love, Liz
25th July 2006

Beautiful Lady
Katie, You look so beautiful and happy in your pictures! I love it that you are sharing your stories and experiences with us! XO, Shanna
28th July 2006

WOnderful comments and pictures
Katie, I am catching up on a few of your entries. It is so true that we focus on differences so much that we fail to see commonalities. Yes, I think feeling the "minority" experience is helpful for everyone, especially those of us who forget the ready made privilieges of being in the majority. Your pictures and experiences are so interesting..it is a place I would like to visit. Pam Huggins

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb