Trip To Cape Town - Days 8 & 9


Advertisement
Africa
January 1st 2012
Published: January 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was quite uneventful. I got up with every intention of doing stuff, but sidetracked and well, all the plans were discarded. The folks at the guest house needed a little help with something so another guest and I jumped in and helped them. That's just how it is here... someone needs your help and you step up and help. There was lots of laughter so everything is good.

Last night was New Year's Eve. I stayed home until about 11PM and then wandered down to a local restaurant/pub where fellow guest house mates were going. They were part of a larger party but asked me to join them. It was a great time.

Today woke up and decided I was going to start the New Year off with a good walk along the ocean. I hiked over the hill to Camp's Bay and then headed south toward the Waterfront. The walk was about two hours long and by the end of it, my foot was hurting. I think I did something to it during my hike up Table Mountain the other day.

Following the walk, I laid by the pool at the guest house and then had a nap.

Went for drinks with locals to the Mount Nelson Hotel. What a gorgeous hotel. Google it and take a look at the pics. Laughed for 3 straight hours. What great guys.

Tonight I packed and head home to Dar tomorrow morning. It is time to get back to work.

Many of you commented that it sounded like I had "hit the wall" before coming here. I think I did, but I am ready to get back and get busy with the work I am doing. This trip has been amazing. I am happy that I did it... I am even happier that there is enough money in my bank account to cover the expenses!

More soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



1st January 2012

Happy new year Bob!
5th January 2012

All caught up.
Well Bob, I'm all caught up and have read every story from the beginning. What a fabulous experience you are living. I can't believe I've been missing the installments so long but I will anxiously await your next one. Congratulations on everything you are doing and have a wonderful 2012.

Tot: 0.187s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0937s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb