new experiences


Advertisement
Africa
May 25th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

5/23/06
Everyday is a new experience. I am so thankful for this opportunity for I know that there is no other way that I could possibly experience the country of South Africa like I have thus far. Today we went to Bethlehem. In South Africa there are no Walmarts (They haven’t taken over the world yet) so we had to go to several different stores to get the things that we needed for different repairs and maintenance around the house. When we first got into town we dropped of the car for its yearly check-up, then we went for coffee. I definitely have had more coffee and tea breaks here than I would ever think of in the states (I love my coffee). It is always pleasant though to sit back and take a break and read the paper to find out what crazy people are doing to get themselves into trouble and tell stories of what the Lord has brought us to and through. We then went to several different stores. The one thing that I forgot when packing for this trip was a hairbrush and this hair would be one big dread if I left it for two months so I picked up a brush at a store which is similar to the Dollar Store. We hand out tracts at most of the places that we travel to. At this particular store the only literature that Doris had was a Bread of Life book so she handed it to the cashier, but she only had one. The lady at the counter asked how much because they are used to getting nothing for free, when she found out that it was free she was very happy and flaunted it to everyone who works there. They always feel like it is such a competition, but it is encouraging to see people thrilled to receive the Word of God, and I was able to give the remaining employees tracts. We all stopped into one of the local coal companies to see some friends of Bruce and Doris (from now, on unedati(like father) and mehh(similar to mother)) who were very nice people and we had coffee and chatted for a while, very nice. We went to a few other stores before we went to the nursing home to visit a lady who used to live in Fouriesburg but was put in a retirement home by her son after she suffered a fall. This dear saint is 92 years old and it was pleasant to sit and fellowship with her for a while and hear stories about how she rode her horse from her village to school and other such stories. Today turned out to be a nice day with the temperatures reaching the 50s-60s and the sun was shining in her window quite nicely and she had a beautiful view of the courtyard, which is very well tended to.
The hospital was a memorable part of the day. We took a bag full of little stuffed animals and handed them out to all of the children and tracts to all of the parents. There were several times when I thought that I was going to break down into tears, the tears came but I had to fight from letting them flow. The one time was when we tried to give a little boy a toy and he started bellowing, this is a good indication that he was treated unfairly by whites at some point in his life and he would not let us come near him. Another time was when I saw several children bleeding from the mouth. When I saw the first child I thought maybe he had bit his lip or something but then I notice another child bleeding and another sleeping on the floor with a bloody dressing under her. I am not sure what this symptom indicates but it was sad to see(if anyone knows please do tell). I also saw several babies that were definitely very tiny for their age and under an oxygen dome and I am reminded of the AIDS epidemic in this country. It is nice to introduce these people to the only saving hope though and I can only pray that they will receive it.
On a different note I finally looked at my grades tonight and I was pleasantly rewarded so that is something to be thankful for.
One of the things that I was a little anxious about prior to coming over here was not being able to have anyone to talk to and hang out with. While I don’t really feel as if that bothers me I really want to be able to communicate with some people back home and it is difficult. Email is such a great thing so please keep me updated with anything exciting or situations needing prayer or just to say hello. Thanks.
Philippians 2:14-16
Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights to the world, holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.
5/24/06
This morning I was woken at 6:15 and mehh said that it was late, I am not a morning person and that is not late. After breakfast we picked up Letta and the boys and went to a local farm where we held a bible club class for about 25 children whose parents work on the farm. These children are fortunate to have a teacher who is competent and is doing a good job. It was a pleasure to see their smiling faces and they love to sing songs. After teaching we had coffee on the farm which is kind of like a rustic hotel with an ostrich and some cows. When we arrived back home we started cooking. I made some rice crispy treats while mehh made a cake and warmed up lunch. The rest of the day is rather a blur with not much excitement but getting a few things done here and there. After dinner unedati and mehh usually watch some tv. Tonight I catch a bit of a show talking about the book of Judas and why it is false. This book was written 300 years after Jesus and was written in Egyptian rather than Hebrew or Greek. It also claims that the spirit is entrapped within the body and therefore would not leave upon death. The final claim is that Jesus is a spirit and He never actually lived on earth. I had known before this program that the book of Judas was just another piece of literature to sidetrack the unstable but it was interesting to find out a few things about it so that I was not so ignorant.
Please pray for this ministry here in South Africa, unedati and mehh just lost the pastor of their church and a couple who came over to serve with them. The circumstances surrounding this ordeal are very unfortunate and they leave unedati, who is 79, and mehh, who is 74, to man the whole ministry with 11 different outreaches throughout the week themselves. Please pray that God would provide them with reliable and trustworthy help to relieve some of the weight on their shoulders.
Mathew 6:13-14
Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb