Three big dudes, one w/ a machine gun.


Advertisement
Africa
August 31st 2009
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all. Have read all comments and mwssages. No access to email for some reason.

Electricity for 1/2 hour now. Must type fast. Excuse errors. KM is in backpack proofreading over my shoulder.

Don't stop praying yet.

KM and I were walking ttoday looking for bananas. Didn't find any.

I was about 100 yards from "home" when I heard a guy saying "pardon Monsuier."

I shouldn't have turned around, but I did. He was in a formal type attire.

Beside him was a fellow with a machine gun. He is the "policeman."

They were joiined by a thrid fellow in civilian clothing.

They began questioning me about the baby.

I explained I have adopted her from the orphanage in Kamina and taking her to America.

He was not impressed.

I finally was able to tell him "I have her passport at MPH."

When said passport, he seemed to be on my side , but not yet.

I said again, "Si vous plait, avec moi." Which is sort of "Please come with me."

He didn't want to . He held his ground.

I threw out some names like Mr Kulonji ( the propritor here) and President Kabila and President Obama, but I don't think he ever heard of them.

Anyway, it was about to turn from bad to worse when I rememberd to call Mama Farayi. She is the treasurer here at MPH and I had just seen her earlier in the day.

THANK GOD SHE ANSWERED.

I handed tall, dark and handsome the phone.

He was still not impressed, but fortunately he handed my phone bakc.

She told me, " he only wants money. Do not give him any."

I was cool with that, but how to extricate?

While I was still on the phone, I started walking. "Avec moi," I motioned to them with a wave of my hand.

I added a slightly derogarotory English slang.

The third guy followed beside me.

When I got home, someone translated for me.

By the time I returned from my room with the PP he was gone.

I was thinking of all kinds of Bruce Lee stuff to do to him, but I never got the chance.

He is sooooooooooooooooo lucky.

Marie is fussing and screaming in my ear so I'm gone.

Peace and Love. Keith.

I Love You Rachel.

Advertisement



31st August 2009

Keith, God is truly looking out for you and your daughter. Unless you have been trained to do "all kinds of Bruce Lee stuff" please don't. You could do more harm to yourself than to those dudes. Who then would take care of KM? Okay, I'm done lecturing. It must have been terrifying for you. Still praying for you and your family and for your safe return home. May the Lord make it sooner rather than later.
31st August 2009

Happy Days!!!
I'M SO HAPPY TO HEAR YOUR SPIRIT!!! We can not wait to see you home with the little baby!!!
1st September 2009

keith, Greg and I are keeping up with your blog and thinking of you guys daily. You and Rachel are real troupers. God will see you through this, and you have lots of people who love you, Rachel, and Kamina dearly. they will be chasing each other in the church before you know it! We love you stay safe.
1st September 2009

prayers will not stop until you both home
I will not stop praying throughout the day until you and Kamina are both home!!! I am praying for your safety and that all paperwork goes quickly, so no more delays. Lots of candles burning for you tonight. We want you both home soon to Rachel. Sending love and prayers, the Hills
1st September 2009

glad you're alright...prayers aplenty! Love ya! Looking forward to the homecoming!! xoxo Karie
1st September 2009

Now is not the time to play Rambo!
Yes, we all know if you hadn't had KM on your back, Keith, you could have separated each of their heads from their necks in one chop and they wouldn't have known it until they sneezed! They had no idea how easily they got off, do they. Loves ya, little brother!
1st September 2009

I would have been terrified!
Hello My Brother, Did you go back to your room and throw up, like I almost did just reading that? Sorry to everybody else for being so graphic, but that was very disturbing. I hope you've figured out a way to prevent that from happening again, like maybe staying in your safe house the rest of the time you're there. Please. I know you don't want to have to live like a prisoner, but you're so close to leaving, and I, for one, want you to stay safe! Praying harder than ever. Dear God, please keep my brother safe. Love ya much, Cathy

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0298s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb