Making Things Happen


Advertisement
Africa
July 29th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jambo!

Have i mentioned how happy i am to finally have been connected with Gohechi? In case i didn't mention it earlier, Gohechi stands for God Help the Children. Peter thinks that God has helped by sending me to the orphanage. I think that Peter is doing the majority of the work with his amazing devotion and strength. Maybe God had something to do with that as well.

Each day Peter and i sit down and map out that appropriate actions for the orphanage. Yesterday we talked for over an hour, going over the orphanages needs and roadblocks he has faced. After our talk, where we identified what needs to be done, we went into town. I went to the office of the Arusha times, while Peter parted ways to speak with a company about getting running water to the orphanage at a reduced price. When i finally found the office (which was actually in an entirely different building than where i started) i typed up an article i wrote introducing myself and describing the orphanage. I thought i could come back later in the week to give them a photo, but the editor informed me that they would need it by morning today. But I had already told my old school that i would come in to teach lessons to the kids.

So this morning i woke up and ran out of the house to the orphanage. I poopoed in, snapped a few pictures o fht ekids in class, and Peter gave me a CD with photos of the children. Then i ran back down the rocky dirt roads to the main Moshi road, giving a wave and Jambo, habari and shkamo to children and the elderly, respectively. As usual, i had a few kids following me down the road, yelling hello teacher and how are you in adorable squealy accents. I hopped on a daladala (the second one that came becuase the first one couldnt fit me, even though they tried to shove me in between a thousand limbs) and arrived at the school in time for a lesson. Class five finished the stories they have been working so hard on, and i could tell that many of them were very proud of their work. I snapped some pictures of them working and playing, and of their finished projects. I hope to post the pictures somehow, unforunately i cannot upload pictures in the internet cafes. I was able to give the kids the materials and resource to create these beautiful two paged books that they couldn not have without my help, and it felt wonderful.

Some of them finished early, so i gave them more paper to draw with. and then one little girl named Brenda walks up to me and hands me a card, and running away to her desk, hiding her head in her arms. I squeal with delight (i couldnt help it and the kids thought it was hilarious) and open up the card and oooo and aaaa over it until brenda is thoroughly embaressed. I showed everyone when brenda did and gave them extra time in case any of them wanted to make a card. i know how it feels to not think of doing a kind thing for a teacher or somene you look up to, but really wanting to once you've realize what would be a nice gift. i have a bag full of cards now and it makes me so happy and loved!

i got a dalladala back to Mt Meru stop, which had chickens screaming from the trunk the entire ride. i walked a few miles to town and went to the Arusha times. i popped in peter's CD and found a beautiful picture of the kids standing in a circle with one of the teachers.

the kids range from ages 2 and a half toseven years old. I am not as helpful in the classroom as i was at the primary school, because the kids do not know english very well. I think i play a more important roll of motivating the kids, and helping peter with logistics and funding projects. Since the kids do not have the materials for art classes, and that doesn't require a huge vocabulary, i think i will spend some of my time buying them crafts to do in school. The kids are very bright and i think that the teachers are doing a marvelous job. But funding does create many barriers.

I've told Peter i will cover the rent for this month of 250,000 shillings (almost $250), for which he doesn't have any money. I'll also be funding the water, desks, and blackboard purchases. I'm trying to decide if i should spend money on food for the children, or if its more important to buy things that are permanent. I need to get a better understanding of what kind of life these children have at home, and what their diets consist of. They all seemed to be quite lively and healthy looking, except for a few cases of ringworm i noticed. But this is only after two days.

This afternoon i am returning to Gohechi to watch the soccor game that Peter organizes for the local boys. the kids will also be there for afternoon classes. I am going to buy a new soccor ball for the team becuase Peter said that theirs is flat and has already been resowed. It's creat to have a local team for the kids,a nd i hope that my presence will further encourage the children to do something fun and safe instead of hanging out on the streets. I'll tell them about all of the Americans that donated their time and money to support my volunteer work, and through me to help those kids that are not as fortunate.

Now more than ever, i value my good fortune, and my ability to live as i am accustomed to. I cannot imagine being unable to travel and see different countries, and enjoy luxuries like a higher education and nice restaurants and visiting relatives far away. Though i may feel undeserving of all i have, i would not trade it, because it has made me who i am.

with love,

Ariel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb