PB Sandwiches and South Africa Roadtrips


Advertisement
Africa
July 28th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I brought the children at Heidi's their Peanut Butter and banana sandwiches. I started the afternoon playing with the kids, mostly soccer of sorts (amazing how powerful their kicks are and they do not break their ankles when they do not wear any shoes) with a child names Bakung. Bakung is the happiest of the any child I have met here. Bakung has muscles problems in his mouth and jaw, his fine motor skills overall are limited but he can sure kick a soccer ball. He constantly drools and his food runs all over his clothes, those of which he wears repeatedly, because he is just learning to sip and swallow and blow. You can not make a word out but he continues to try. He is basically an orphan as there is no record of how or why but his mother passed away, his father took off, his grandmother passed and then his grandfather took off, leaving Bakung in the care of his grandfathers ex girlfriend... the drinker. Bakungs daily meal is when he is at Heidi's house, and on the days Heidi is not home he most likely does not eat. Thankfully he wears a pair of blue crocs, not sure who donated them but I am glad he has something. I believe he is 7 years old. Thus far, he is my "favorite" however I do not really like to choose favorites.

I opened up a 100 piece puzzle I brought "World of Animals" and worked with about 6 kids on it. Puzzles are not an easy concept to them. They do not understand that some pieces have flat edges, they try to do it as a whole, they get frustrated and give up. I showed my 6 how to do the edges first. We all gave high fives when we completed it. Not an easy task for them. The kids loved the blow up beach ball i brought, so much that it popped an hour later. 😊

Heidi fed the children their typical warm lunch they expect from her and when they left to walk home after, I gave them their sandwiches. They told Heidi that it filled their bellies and they were all so excited when I passed them all out.

Yesterday was fulfilling.

At dinner last night it was mentioned that Des, a young pastor from church was driving to a Game Reserve in South Africa to fetch the Americans that had stayed there 2 nights. Allan called and this morning I jumped in with Des to join for pick up. This was my chance to see the animals. We saw many zebra and a gathering of baboons (WOO HOO) while driving and when we got to a lodge I walked to a watering hole where there were Impala. The Americans had pais $250 per night, all meals, beautiful lodge and 2 daily safari's. Had I known I probably would have put it on my credit card and joined. They all saw the big 5. I am jealous lol.

I am now back in Gabs, using the church net and about to go to Heidi's to greet the kids and hopefully today I will be able to do my Love Project with them.

All is amazing here wish you all could join me 😊

xo
Erin

Advertisement



29th July 2009

You
Erin, you rock. It's that simple.
29th July 2009

Amazing
Hey Erin! Sounds like things are going amazingly well. It's so refreshing to hear when people, small children in particular, become over joyed due to something so humanly basic - food! It hits home for me as I know the country where my family is from has may starving children (Haiti). I hope one day I have the strength, courage, and resources to do what your doing. Your amazing and those kiddies will never forget y
29th July 2009

yey!
good job Erin --looks like you are having a great trip!! I wish i could have come with you ---maybe next time!!! looking forward to the pictures and stories. Call me when you get home. Hope you get to Poland on your way back home!

Tot: 0.265s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb