And yet another one...


Advertisement
Africa
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

GarnetonGarnetonGarneton

This was my sleeping area, which was actually really big
Look at this, another entry. I think I might have matched already what I wrote last year. Maybe not, but it feels close. Again, no pictures, but there will be some soon.

The past day or so Sandy and I went to Garneton to visit with Br. Tony and company. It's changed a little since last year, including the people. There are also to harvestable banana plants anymore. Last year, I think I discussed how many had died off from a disease of some kind. Well, this year, there is no more. The plants are still around here and there, but not much and I don't think any are used.

So yesterday I was able to talk with Remie, the head teacher at St. Francis school that is almost literally right behind St. Francis Friary. He seemed really excited about the OLP group visiting the school and even more excited about receiving some of the donated books the group has collected. Yesterday afternoon I was able to meet with a few of the teachers there who were having a picnic - a little build of team-building and blowing off steam. They too, seem excited to have the group visit
Kumasamba LodgeKumasamba LodgeKumasamba Lodge

There's actually a croc named "Francis" in there somewhere. I found the name appropriate.
and spend time there.

Speaking of the picnic, we met a great group of people where the picnic was being held. The lodge is called Kumasamba Lodge. It's run by a great couple, John and Wendy. John was born in Zambia and Wendy is practically Zambian by way of England, she's been there since '66. The two have had a beautiful piece of land for a while and recently turned it into a lodge. Now them and their son, Jonathan, and his wife Venus (at least that's what I interpreted) all keep it running. It's right around Kitwe but seems like miles and miles away from there. It really is stunning, and I promise to have pictures of it up soon.

That's really all for now, Sandy and I drove beck to Lusaka today and are now staying at Kulundu. Only a few more days until the group gets here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Kumasamba Lodge owners and companyKumasamba Lodge owners and company
Kumasamba Lodge owners and company

From left: Jonathan, Wendy, Br. Tony, John, and Remie


18th June 2009

Kumasamba Lodge
Nice shot Meghan! That really was a nice oasis wasn't it!
20th June 2009

You are a great leader!
Meghan, your Mom and Dad told me how I could get to your blog. You are a good leader. Thanks for sharing on your blog. Betty

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb