Zimbabwe-The Condensed Version


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello abyss,

I have no idea how people manage to keep these things regularly updated with lots of pretty pictures and correct grammar etc etc.....seriously my internet access has been at best sporadic and when I do get it very slow! Anyway I am in Victoria Falls now so broadband is more readily available...

Where to start....where to start....

Ok well I left Harare over a week ago, and after driving roughly 43 times up and down Seke road fnally found the campsite where I was to meet the truck. I met the truck. The next day we had a free day in Harare, this was spent in Eastgate shopping mall doing e-mails and eating, we then watched a movie (Crank....brilliant watch it) African cinemas are an interesting experience, for one they stink, for another they are as black as black can be (I meant absence of light.......you racist)

I feel quite ill right now (still dizzy from riding in a helicopter this morning) so i'm going to keep this sweet....

From Harare we drove to the Antelope Park in Gweru which was a truly beautiful place, they offer awesome stuff like walking with lions as well as overrated crap like swimming with Eephants (I fell off twice, never again do I wish to be dunked repeatedly by two tons of muscle)

From Gweru we drove to Bulawayo which is vying for the title of "Hugh's Favourite City in Zimbabwe After Harare of Course" we stayed in the grounds of a beautiful old colonial house which had been turned over into a backpackers hostel, it had a truly massive garden, at least 5 acres I was quite literally blown away. We were also given the chance to do a walking safari in Matopos looking for Rhino (it was literally awesome)

From Bulawayo we caught the overnight train up here to the falls, this was fairly daunting as were dropped off at the station and night and it was loud and smelly and being a "surrey softy" I was mildly intimidated, oh right yes and out guide from Matopos had put the heebie jeebies up us with stories of people being "cleaned out" on the train, big tough people with guns not weeny travellers with cameras. Anyway I survied and it was actually a really lovely experience, I just played a lot of cards and sleeping on a train turns out to be a lot of fun....

Annnnnnnnnd now i'm in Vic Falls, nice town I guess, way too many beggars and people selling crap I don't want or need, although I managed to swap my crappy cap for two wooden mask carvings (Result!) The Falls themselves are stunning, although once you've paid the extortionate entrance fee and seen them there is very little else to do if you don't want to waste your money on "adrenaline activities" I also did the flight of the angels in a chopper over the falls, it was incredible.

I'm going to Zambia tomorrow.

That's all I have to say.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.046s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb