First Days of Travel - Zimbabwe


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Harare
October 8th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

"Hello friends, family and people who happened to have stumbled across these words of mine. Before I start don't get too excited I don't have access to the web these are e-mailed from outlook to home to be updated on my behalf! As I sit typing in my cousin's suburban Harare home my fingers are slipping off the keyboard, it's hot, but not as hot as it is going to be as i'm assured by all and sundry (this is accompanied by a smug "boy oh boy" smile) this sentiment is increased tenfold when I tell them I'll be in Vic Falls in two weeks "ag man but the humidity!" they cry. I'm not concerned, i've just stepped out of a 14 month winter in England and quite frankly i'm loving the heat (read: novelty factor of) I've not really got a lot to report on thus far, this first week promises to be a leisurely one, my days so far have gone something like this:


Wake up
Go to Avondale for breakfast
Flea Market/Shopping/Other
Go see Grandma
Come home for lunch
Read book
Go see Grandma
Go out for afternoon tea
Come home
Eat
Sleep

Simple but
Jacaranda against hot skiesJacaranda against hot skiesJacaranda against hot skies

The Jacaranda tree I can see above the locked gates of my cousin's house
fun. Also throw into the mix scouring the whole city for beer, some chaps were selling it in the carpark of the local shops the other day, but I and my first world concerns about being horribly ripped off (I have FOREIGNER written across my forehead in large dayglo letters) meant I missed the boat with that one. I shall cruise past later and see if they're still selling...

I saw a billboard which said "Barclays Your'e Local Bank"

I have been having problems sending and recieving text messages, I have recieved the same text from my mom five times over the course of three days, also sometimes ones I send are not getting through or I am not recieving ones that people send me. So apologies if this has affected you!

Why do people in Africa wear wooley hats?

My flight was awful, everything seemed to conspire to annoy me, the woman in front of me seemed determined to have her seat pushed as far back as it's mechanics would allow, she also carried a teddy bear, which may seem harmless but when coupled with the crushing of my knees earnt her the title "Most
Harare high flyerHarare high flyerHarare high flyer

His wife asked him to paint the ceiling - wow will there be trouble when she gets home
Annoying Woman I Have Sat Behind Whilst on an Aeroplane" Even the movies were annoying, except Surfs Up which was quite brilliant in every regard. When it came to disembarking I found myself stuck behind several doddering old folks who had understood hand luggage to mean "Everything I've ever owned" which meant standing for hours (Ok 30 minutes but I was hot and tired and gasping thirsty) in the visa queue (I have double entry which means I can go over to Zambia for the day
when I visit Vic Falls) anyway, after waiting very calmly and patiently for my luggage I stumbled through into the arrivals lounge and after a short wait collapsed into the car. Everything looks very different compared to when I was here in March, possibly because it's a completely different season but still....however the Jacarandas are quite stunning to look at.

I've been given use of a car, driving here is fantastic fun, hardly any other cars on the roads which are very wide and generally straight, putting aside the potholes and people weaving with gay abandon about the road and the lunacy of other drivers on the rare occassions that I see one...
London - what's London?London - what's London?London - what's London?

I drive along this road every day to see my Grandma. I really don't miss rush hour at all!


I've pretty much exhausted anything I had to say, as I said I've not really been up to anything exciting yet, as of next week i'm sure this will make more exciting reading....Possibly going to Chinoyi caves this week, so we'll see..."

Advertisement



8th October 2007

Wow dude, how can you stand it?!?!

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0636s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb