Last day in Bulawayo


Advertisement
Zimbabwe's flag
Africa » Zimbabwe » Bulawayo
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post


May 2, 2007 Last day in Bulawayo

This is our last day in Bulawayo. Yesterday we had a CHI board meeting to discuss our mission here and to see what was learned. As we were the first volunteers for CHI Zimbabwe it was a little bit jumbled but because of who we are we suited the part perfectly. The CHI people took care of us so well. We didn’t even get sick except one day for Kotah and some sniffles. We were useful and appreciated the entire time. We came with flexibility, few expectations, and willing to do what God wanted us to do and it worked out perfectly. We had a great talk, I showed our photos and we had some good prayers. I am thankful that we were used to further the great cause of Christ’s Hope International here in Zimbabwe. They sent us away with prayers and Hugs. I held back the tears. I’m sure I will shed a few come 7am tomorrow when we drive away. Or maybe now as I write about it.

After the meeting our friend Shepherd came to the house for a visit. He is such a wonderful person. Shepherd is 21 years old and helping so many kids. In fact right now he is on a train with 60 of them on their way to Victoria falls. These kids had won a toy making contest last year and this is the prize for them. He touched our hearts. While he was here I transferred some of our photos from Masiye Camp and AWANA to his data stick and gave him the rest of our Canada pencils and pins and balloons. And I gave him a big donation for his AWANA club and the church outreach program. I wish I could have captured the look on his face when I handed him that. Surprised, amazed, unbelieving. I could see Shepherd’s mind working to see a changed AWANA with all the kids having T-shirts, and workbooks and maybe there will be beanbags, although I think the shoes were working just fine. And, all the kids will be able to go on the trip coming up in May. I will still talk to the church in my neighborhood to see if they will take on this sponsorship. Shepherd might come to Canada. Last December he was supposed to come under the invitation of some people that he had met at Masiye Camp last year but he couldn’t get a passport. Now he is enquiring again.

I just realized today that all of the people who ask me about job opportunities in Canada are the young people with great talents and motivation. They are the very people who Zimbabwe needs to keep in the country but here it is not worth working. A guy selling avocadoes on the corner can make more money in a week than a teacher makes in a month. And when you get your check from work, it is only worth half as much at the end of the month because prices have doubled or sometimes tripled. Maybe all of those good people will return to Zimbabwe when things get better, they will get better.

So today we do some last minute shopping, Pack, and repack again. We have to try and make our luggage under 20 kg each. Did I mention I hate packing this way. We head for Hwange and Victoria Falls tomorrow and then on May 6 we board the bus to Namibia. So you won’t hear from us until at least the 7th. We’ll talk to you then.

We love everyone here so much…


Advertisement



3rd May 2007

good.day
love you .g.g.casey,see.you.in. kamloops.g.g.casey
4th May 2007

LOVE YOU KODE
WE MISS YOU KODE, WE LOVE YOU KODE, WE CAN'T WAIT UNTIL YOUR RETURN KODE, THANK YOU FOR KEEPING US UP TO DATE ON THE PRICE OF COCACOLA. DO YOU PRACTICE FANCY DANCING WHEN YOUR MOM IS BEATING THE DRUM? THANK YOU FOR KEEPING US UP TO DATE ON THE PRICE OF COCACOLA. WE CAN'T WAIT UNTIL YOUR RETURN KODE, WE LOVE YOU KODE, WE MISS YOU KODE. LOVE DAD, DEED, MITCHELL, GRAMPA GRANT, BANDIT; AND THE DOG FORMERLY KNOWN AS ZOEY.
4th May 2007

You Guy's Are Awesome!
Thanks for the up dates, they are always so good to read. Dakotah you know I love pictures, so my suggestion for souvenirs is pictures! Maybe to wind down after your return putting together some scrap books as gifts would be nice. Mitchell was in a play last week and his class sang YMCA. Mitchell dressed in his Regalia and Dad and I made him a War Bonnet with Goose feathers. (Head Dress) I actually braided his hair in two braides, and yes he told me it hurt when I was doing it! I know that Dad mentioned the dog formely known a Zoey in his comment, well we got a puppy! She will be here next week, she is still breast feeding now, so we think we are going to name her Violet. She is sooo cute, you will love her more than Bandit, I know it! Love you SOOOO much Deed, xoxoxoxoxoxo
19th September 2010

last day in bulawayo
hey guys that was gud ................it was really a visit to remember. I was the first secretary for YMCA Bulawayo branch when it started in 1993 it was my first job and i really loved it hey it was awesome. Thank u to Mr David mnkandla our administrative secretary - who trained me. from Senzeni Ncube

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb