Mammoths....


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
January 28th 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

All AboardAll AboardAll Aboard

Getting on the Ellie to go on a game walk.
I woke early this morning after an extremely comfortable sleep. I was in a small dome tent just big enough to fit me, but I have never had such a ‘lekke’ sleep, the noises and fresh air on the outside was enough to make me feel dreamy.

We started the day with a fried breakfast; absolutely yummy before heading over to a spot near the lake where 3 Elephants where waiting with some trainers. We jumped on the Elephants and went walking around the bush for an hour or so looking for game. Game is the term used for African wildlife apparently. Upon returning back to base; the Elephants where led into the river with us still on! To put it in term, for the next 15minutes we swam with Elephants. I’m not sure whether it was swimming or the Elephants dunking us and doing awkward flips under water; but it was a surreal experience that I will never forget. Upon swimming with the Nellie’s we went up and cooked some lunch before my cousin and I headed out on a canoe trekking the river. We spent much of the afternoon going up the river, getting extremely burnt along the
Preparing for SwimPreparing for SwimPreparing for Swim

The Elephants before deployment under water.
way; but it was worth it, the scenery was just stunning.

When we got back there was a ‘Mule Kart’ awaiting us. 4 Mules connected to a Kart took us all around the game park scoping out Zebra and various other animals that I can’t remember; no sign of Lion, Rhino or Giraffe.

We got back to camp just before dark, cooked dinner and headed in for an early night. I’m up at 6.00am tomorrow morning; to walk with lions.

Fav. Drink - Crème Soda cordial
Fav. Food - Egg and Bacon



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Down..Down..Down...Down..Down..Down...
Down..Down..Down...

Going down for a dunking...again
Surfing the beast...Surfing the beast...
Surfing the beast...

I opened my eyes under water... it hurt :(
AfterwardsAfterwards
Afterwards

Best Experience Ever
Ellie took a SwipeEllie took a Swipe
Ellie took a Swipe

The elephant took a swipe with his trunk at me.
Surreal ViewSurreal View
Surreal View

Cannooing past an Elephent...
Mule KartMule Kart
Mule Kart

With me at the helm; nothing was to go wrong.


2nd February 2006

omg hi jon
You better not come back to Australia with a 'seth efrican' accent. Or ill boil you and feed you to Linda Perry. :) looked fun playing on the ellies though!
2nd February 2006

im not gay
"Looking for game" is also a term male elephants use in reference to looking for chick elephants who put out.

Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0817s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb