Pickies and scrumping


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Livingstone
December 22nd 2006
Published: December 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry about the lack of pickies - I think I have sorted myself out, so let's try again!! Others watiing to use the internet, so not many words - for once!!

Well, that didn't work - so i will leave the pictures until S Africa and a broadband connection.

Sleep is proving to be quite important on this trip. Going to sleep in Africa is a totally different ball game: insects, frogs, bats and some birds all start to sing. Loudly. That is fine in the countrysde until the hippos start to laugh which makes me giggle and sleep becomes even more elusive. Here at Lawlty Towers, there is another sound effect that is rather shattering - the soiund of mangoes falling from the trees and hitting the corrugated iron roof. The first one sounded like a 25 pound gun going off, but at least I am used to it now.

The mangoes have been delicious and yes, I have been scrumping the wild ones. In the gardens here they have an avocado pear tree that is just overladen with fruit. On the basis of -'You don't get if you don't ask', I have asked the manager if I can pick some and that is fine, so now I have some avocados ripening ready for a meal later in the week.

We are waiting for Paul and Estelle (friends of Ian and Renske) to join us, so I hope the fog in the UK hasn't messed up their flights totally.


Advertisement



22nd December 2006

laughing hippos
I would say that a mango hitting an iron roof would be quite startling! I didn’t know that hippos laugh. You’ve taught me something new for today :)
24th December 2006

Laughing Hippo
Just imagine a very tough, leathery smiling Father Chirstmas type of figure!!

Tot: 0.455s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb