Feel the fear and do it anyway!


Advertisement
Zambia's flag
Africa » Zambia » Chipata
December 14th 2006
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


John, you should recognise that saying, as you drummed it into me at one stage - it has been most useful already on this trip!!
We travelled from Chipata to the South Luangwa game park where we stayed in Flat Dogs - I think I have already said this. What I didn't mention was the fact that I pitched my tent up a tree, 11 steps up a ladder and on a platform that was only slightly larger than my tent!
The reason being that elephants were frequent night visitors to the camp, and sometimes the hippos came too! The camp fitted our needs exceptionally well, it is right by the entrance to the game park, so our safaris were easily organised and we saw some good sightings of game, sadly no lions, but we did follow a leopard! The second day we spent chilling out by the pool and being domestic - things like washing needed to be done.
The third night in the tent was very successful, no rain came in and I slept well.
(This might sound a bit boring, but it matters in this situation!)
The journey back to Chipata was full of rather African experiences, a flat tyre and only two bolts fitted back on the nuts, then Matthews, our driver, drove into the ditch. It needed 10 men to lift the car out before we could continue back to town.
I will write some more tomorrow, food beckons at the moment!

Advertisement



14th December 2006

Sleep Indeed!!
Like the idea of sleeping in a tree!! I could see myself plummeting to the ground though. Feel the fear indeed!! Good that tent sleep is successful-could be a problem if not. all sounds wonderful. Love, John
14th December 2006

oh wow
Have to say that pitching a tent up a tree sounds very cool (but also rather tricky!). Enjoying reading about your exploits!
14th December 2006

Camping
Only you could pitch a tent half way up a tree.
15th December 2006

postcard
I received your postcard yesterday and I was thrilled! You picked the perfect picture for me. I have it hanging on my refrigerator so I can see it every day. Thank you for thinking of me!!
20th December 2006

Postcard
Hi Tami, Glad it got htere safely, Harriet and I thought you would enjoy that. Have a lovely Christmas, Best wishes to your family, Liz

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb