A new kitchen - I mean, chicken - no wait...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda
February 20th 2008
Published: February 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here is the new "chicken" at TASO (somehow the word "kitchen" gives people trouble) ... where the wonderful client ladies will make our tea and lunches of posho, rice, beans, what what... The building has been put up over the last week or so. Check out the awesome roof supports and walls, made from untreated, un-cut wood. The tools used include: hoes, to dig the earth and put in the foundations, pick axe, to dig the channel for the water pipes, hammer and saw. No power tools, no heavy machinery. Quite impressive!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

all done? all done?
all done?

Not sure, but Martha and the gals are moving in soon.


8th March 2008

Hej from Florida
Hej AnnaSara! It has been great "hearing" from you by the web. I thought it was time I said something back, so you know we are reading! (Say Hi to Andy, Dad and Anna) I always find it amazing that there are all these "worlds" out there. How different "normal" is in other places. Take it easy when you come back. "Over here" can seem pretty insane after being out in the "real world". It took me about 4 months get back to more than 50% "western capacity" after my India trip. Iris is now falling asleep by herself many evenings, and my new job (started January 1) is only a few minutes away (by car) so some days I have lunch at home. (I haven't had it together to bike to work yet. But at least I have air in tires now) Also Iris is going to daycare a few days a week. This development has made it possible for me and Heidi to actually sit down and have long grown-up conversations more than once a month :) This weekend Heidi is at an ICAN conference in Orlando. ICAN = International Cesarean Awareness Network. So Iris and I are home "alone". Heidi found a puppet theater performance for us to go to tomorrow. Lots of Hugs, Martin ( Iris and Heidi )

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0614s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb