I have arrived


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
February 1st 2010
Published: February 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

LondonLondonLondon

London, the teli, and because i could.. starbucks
Well I have arrived safe and sound!

After an amazing evening on the town of London walking the streets, having some sit down time and getting on the Eye of London with Ms. Sarah we had a quick sleep and I boarded a bus and the tube to Heathrow early in the AM where I made my flight 20 mins before departing (that's a record !)

So after 18 hours of flight and 2 days in journey I arrived at Entebbe airport at 11p last night where I was shuttled in a line of travellers (wearing a turtleneck as I was going from -4C in London to 24C in Entebbe yuck!), paid $50 for my visa, and was greeted by Maughan and her friend Twiggy.

Maughan rented us a guest house room in Kampala where the owner was no where to found so it was a mattress on the floor and the bed for us.

6am... Roosters call! I have arrrrrived!

Today we are getting organized for our next few weeks. Some things have changed of the course of our stay here for a number of reasons so it should be interesting as it all unfolds.
LondonLondonLondon

From the London Eee


Maughan was great enough to pick up the 200 sets of Afripads ( same as Lunapads but made locally thanks Madeleine for the contact... the girls here did a great job making them and I hope to be visiting the factory before I leave). This afternoon we will be heading the Bauvbuka House to meet the kids and see whats going on. In the early am we will be leaving for Gulu to start training. It's an 8 hour drive to Gulu and 4 days of training a number of girls there then back to Kampala.

It's funny how everywhere I go I start to feel at home within the first 24 hours. The people, the sounds, the places, and laughter, and community.

Thank you for being a part of this journey... Here we go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

LondonLondon
London

From the Eye
BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

Cooking making breakfast


1st February 2010

Aww
You were so close and you still didn't make it here. Enjoy your travels darlin' I'm looking forward to reading more. Love M
1st February 2010

Glad you arrived safe!
Enjoy your adventure!
1st February 2010

safe and sound
Glad you are safe and sound! I look forward to reading more about your journey! Be well and go safe my sistah.

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb