Dec 25-Kampala


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 10th 2007
Published: January 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So after 44 hours I finally had arrived at my destination...well almost. I was in Entebbe, Uganda and the airport en route for Kampala. Upon getting off the plane I went through immigration (two guys sitting in a booth who stamp your passport). I was SOOO hot in my sweat pants and fleece as I grabbed my bags and headed out to meet Francis, Muireann and Fred. As I exited the airport I was greeted by several anxious taxi drivers wanting to take me anywhere I wanted to go...luckily my ride rounded the corner and rescued me. We hopped on Francis' car and headed off to Kampala. After a brief tour through a slum we ended up at Nsambya Hospital where we had to enter through a gate with two armed guards. I settled in to Fred's quaint little place and quickly had to get ready for Christmas dinner. We all went to Nderre, an outdoor theater, to watch a local group perform and have dinner. The group was amazing...one women balanced 9 clay pots on her head and continued to dance. Dinner was far from our traditional Christmas meal, it consisted of grilled pork, fries and coleslaw. It was an amazing evening but I was ready for bed...so my first day in Uganda was complete.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb