Aaaaaaafrica!


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Tozeur
October 2nd 2006
Published: October 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Tunisia 4Tunisia 4Tunisia 4

Visiting a fortified granary.
I will be hopping in the Tardis soon to head back east towards home, but on the way I have had an exciting few days taking a detour to the sands of the Sahara desert in Tunisia. Sand to see for miles, salt plains, olive trees, sand, date palms, more than one oasis (what is the plural for that anyway- oasiss, oases, oasis's?????), naturals springs and waterfalls, a ride on a camel, markets, shisha pipes, apple tea, sand, mint tea, roman ruins, old berber towns, old WW2 tanks and jeeps left behind. Did I mention lots of sand, fantastic food, some friendly locals who offered Julie lots of camels for me to stay, plus a local guide who I think knew absolutely everything about the country, it was amazing!!! Hope ya like the fotos!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Tunisia 5Tunisia 5
Tunisia 5

Got myself a shesh at the market to keep the sand out of my snout.
Tunisia 11Tunisia 11
Tunisia 11

Sailing on the salt plains.
Tunisia 12Tunisia 12
Tunisia 12

Was told I may find a date or three, I was surprised, koalas in Africa!! Alas, only the kind that grow on a palm.
Tunisia 15Tunisia 15
Tunisia 15

Once upon a time in a galaxy far away.......
Tunisia 16Tunisia 16
Tunisia 16

Some time on the Star Wars set left behind in the desert near the Algerian border.
Tunisia 19Tunisia 19
Tunisia 19

The old village at Temerza, also near the Algerian border.
Tunisia 18Tunisia 18
Tunisia 18

Also on offer was to swap Godfrey for this little salamander. Considered, but in the end a koala is a much lower maintenance travelling companion.
Tunisia 8Tunisia 8
Tunisia 8

Hey dude....!!
Tunisia 14Tunisia 14
Tunisia 14

Safety first in the landcruisers, and I found myself my own seat!!


Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0319s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb