A day of bad decisions in Sfax and Kerkennah !!!


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Kerkennah
November 27th 2008
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life was getting too comfortable in Sousse and it was time to leave and see the rest of the country. I went to Sfax from Sousse and I got into Sfax at 11am. Found the ferry port and found out that the next ferry to Kerkennah was at 1230pm and the next at 1430pm. Decided to get a room in the Sfax medina and then walkabout the medina and take the Kerkennah ferry at 1430. I realized later that this was not such a good idea. If you ever come to Sfax take the first available ferry to Kerkennah. If you want to see Sfax (of course there is nothing much to see) leave your backpack in the ferry port and check out the medina.

I got to the Hotel Medina and while filling in my registration form there were these two girls in front of me starring at me and looking at what I was filling. I am quite sure they were two good time girls. I didn’t pay much attention, I filled the form and left. Strangely on this occasion the hotel owner got me to fill two forms as much as to keep me there for longer and he was correcting each letter I wrote. There was something going on but I just ignored it all.

Walked about the medina and made my way to get to the ferry port at 2pm the ferry left almost on time at 1430. I also stopped by at a Kodak shop to get my camera lens cleaned.

Kerkennah islands was ok, not much activity. I was pre-warned that not much happened there but a good place to chill and do nothing. Unfortunately I do not understand concept of doing nothing alone. I constantly want to be doing something. But it’s something I need to get used to.

I took the bus from the ferry port Sidi Youssef to Remla. I got off at Ouled Kacem and took a taxi to the old fort Borj el-Hissar. This is a waste of time and money. If you are in Kerkennah for a few days and exploring the islands by bicycle then it’s a good idea to visit this fort; not if you are on a tight timeline. On the other hand if you are on a tight schedule then there is no point in coming to Kerkennah at all.

I hitched a ride back to a point where I caught the bus back to the ferry port. At the ferry port there is a cafeteria and my work colleague Mokhtar wanted me to talk to Kamal who serves at the cafeteria. I spoke to Kamal and when I told him I was Mokhtar's friend he asked me to come around to the inside of the cafe. Later I told him that I had to go as I was catching the ferry. He had spoken to another guy who came in the return ferry with me and told him that I am crazy that I said I’m Mokthar’s friend and left, that I should have stayed at least one night with him. He had given his number for me to call. Now looking back I should have stayed that night in Kerkennah without staying in Sfax.

In the ferry this man spoke to me the entire trip and once I got to Sfax this other guy who Kamal had spoken took me to the bus station to find out times for the Tatouine bus. The bus was leaving at 1230am which I was not going to take.

I asked the guy to have dinner with me and he dropped me at the medina and I went back to the hotel. I immediately fell asleep.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb