Safari At Selous: Day 4: "Happy Birthday To Me!" (That's For You, Alex)


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
January 24th 2013
Published: January 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

51 Never Looked So Good!51 Never Looked So Good!51 Never Looked So Good!

Up at 6AM in the pitch black eating rice porridge... Happy Birthday to me!
We woke up just as the sun was rising over the Rufiji River and we prepared for a 2 hour walking safari. It was my birthday and I was feeling every day of my 51 years.

Rice porridge once again (it was growing on me) and then we were off to the game reserve.

Upon arrival, we met up with a local guide who walked us around the area close to the park entrance. He carried a rifle in case any giraffes or baboons got freaky with us. None of them did.

It was a nice walk, but to be honest, a couple more hours of sleep would have been nice.

The first thing they showed us was hyena dung. Interesting really... it had a white colour because the hyenas eat the bones of the animals they capture. I didn't take a picture of it. In hindsight I wish I had.

The coolest thing we saw on our walk was the skeleton of a hippo. Apparently, the huge thing was wandering at night, looking for food, when it dropped dead from natural causes. Needless to say, the other animals in the reserve had a feast and
Drying my Shorts Before The Walking SafariDrying my Shorts Before The Walking SafariDrying my Shorts Before The Walking Safari

I sat in my chair without knowing how wet it was from the morning dew.
left the bones. It happened a while ago, so the people at the reserve arranged the scattered bones to make a display of it.

After the walk, we had breakfast at the camp and then headed home in the truck.

When we stopped for lunch, Scarce said to me, "Mr Robert, I have a surprise for you. Close your eyes."

I did what I was told and then heard a small group of Tanzanians singing Happy Birthday to me as Scarce presented me with a birthday cake, made with fresh bananas and complete with candles. Scarce baked the cake while we were on the walking safari. Somehow he made it only using charcoal. He was so proud of himself. Very sweet.

In all our excitement of the event, we cut the cake without getting a picture. Scarce even took a bite out of his piece. We reassembled the cake got the picture. I assured Scarce no one would notice the bite marks (in the borrom right hand corner).

All in all, it was a very good day.

I have said it before and I will say it again, I am a very lucky man
WarthogWarthogWarthog

These things are nervous little creatures that run away as fast as they can.
to be here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dayna & A Termite HillDayna & A Termite Hill
Dayna & A Termite Hill

The thing on the left is a termite hill. It stood about 10 feet tall. I tried to get Dayna to stand closer to it. She said no.
Hippo SkeletonHippo Skeleton
Hippo Skeleton

Apparently, this one came out of the water in the night and then drop dead from old age. The other animals had a feast.
Crocodile TreeCrocodile Tree
Crocodile Tree

The locals call it by this name because of the texture of the bark.
The Four Of Us Leaving Hippo CampThe Four Of Us Leaving Hippo Camp
The Four Of Us Leaving Hippo Camp

Katuku (our driver and guide), me, Dayna, and Scarce (our chef).


24th January 2013

Happy Birthday Bob
What a wonderful way to enjoy your birthday! Many happy returns.
24th January 2013

For a short length blog, I thought this was very interesting with aspects of a safari you don't often hear about like the hyena dung and hippo skeleton. Thanks for sharing and happy birthday!
24th January 2013
I Will Never Get Closer Than This!

Lol. Good to see you're being treated well on your birthday.
24th January 2013
My Birthday Banana Cake

That was kind of them to just put two candles there, although I imagine it would have been a fire hazard if they put the correct amount. ;-) Miss ya Bobby!
24th January 2013

Nothing says 'Happy Birthday' like hyena dung and hippopotomus carcass! Looks like your amazing adventure continues!
25th January 2013
51 Never Looked So Good!

Bobby, we all know you are devilishly handsome....shame we can't see that in this particularly picture. ;-) Miss ya! Happy Birthday!
27th January 2013

Happiest of all Birthdays Bob!
Many happy returns. Got your postcard. Amazing and as usual speechless at the beauty in your photos and jealous of your fantastic adventure. I look forward to more, please. Love and miss you buddy. Enjoy your life. xoxo Deb & Peter

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb