Day 2 of Meru


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
August 13th 2010
Published: August 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm writing this on the 14th and I don't remember much because of all the goings on today. I do remember the 2nd day being much harder than the first, but I survived relatively unscathed. They've got their brochure all screwy. They say the first day is 4-6 hours and we did it in 3, they say the 2nd day is 3-5 hours and it took us 7. Lame. At the start of the hike some giraffes crossed right in front of us. Even after all the work we did with giraffes and how many we saw in Ruaha, having them come so close still makes my jaw drop. The beginning was all rainforest in the clouds. When we finally got about the clouds we got our first siting of Kili above the world. Nothing compares. I definitely won't get bore of looking down on the clouds...peeing in the woods not so much. I had my first issues with the altitude. i got a massive headache and pulled out my inhaler for the first time.
After we got to the Saddle Huts and had tea, we were supposed to climb to little Meru, but I decided to rest up for tomorrow instead and Vincent went with the other group. We had an early dinner and met with out guide about tomorrow. Up at 12 am, leaving at 1. Not cool. Went to bed around 6, but to no avail for a few hours. Oh, both Vincent and I are annoyed with the 4 day schedule. We do everything with the 3 day group, but then descend and stay at the 1st campsite and do the last 2 hours on the 4th day. WE were under the impression that we had an extra day of acclimatization, but apparently not.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0466s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb