Chicas Arrive in Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
October 25th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Jambo from Zanzibar! This is a stunning island..the color of the Indian Ocean is photo shop azure blue - that deep and that beautiful - hard to believe it is real. I am in heaven mostly because I am in the company of dear friends. The Safari Chicas - Sheila Weaver, Janet Brown and Kim Searle arrived 2 days ago..travelling some 3 days via Toronto, London and Nairobi to hook up with me in Zanzibar. I met the chicas at the airport after spending 4 nights in Stone Town touring Aga Khan healthcare and education projects. More on my travels in Mombassa and Zanzibar in a follow-up blog.

We the chicas have been enjoying beach time and catching up time. The gals arrived with a bag full of notes from dear friends and chicas in Calgary. Thank you to those who sent their love, encouragement and well wishes - each sealed by a shoe -- of course! My dear friends Don and Gisele hosted a send-off party for the safari chicas and writing the notes was one of the activities. I also hear there was an amazing feast with African touches and accessories - created just for the occasion by Don and Gisele! Thank you Don and Gisele (ps I got the bear hug Don) - just hearing the stories made me feel loved and so a part of the festivities.

I have had to ask the chicas to be tolerant of my new solitary practices. Seems I have been on my own too long! These gals have traveled half way across the world to spend time with me - and it is me who has been the first to bed both nights. Quite sad really!

Tomorrow we are off to tour Stone Town - a UNESCO Historical Village some 200 years old. Zanzibar is the island where the cultures of Arabia, Persia, India and Africa converge and mix. Stone Town is the historical port. This was also a key site in the slave tradeā€¦to be brought to an end by none other than Dr. David Livingstone - a highly revered English man in these parts, in the late 1800's. An Anglican Church now stands where the slave whipping post once did. Remember -- this is a land of contrasts! Zanzibar is also known as the spice island. Tomorrow we will also visit a spice farm and sample the flavors and aromas.

Today was spent exploring the coral reef. The tide recedes incredibly far - in fact Kim the first day asked if we should be concerned about a tsunami!!!! It is unlike anything I have ever seen. We explored the reef with a couple of guides (Mohammed and Mohammed - of course their names were Mohammed) - we ended up having two because we forgot what the fella we made arrangements with yesterday looked like -- don't ask?! And what a wonderful prowl! Jelly fish with startling magenta ink, starfishes vibrant colors of orange, red, blue and green. Beautiful shells that we resisted from taking -- because that is against the rules. The beach boys (what they are called) even tried to spear a couple of eels! The day was finished walking the beach and visiting a Masai Market - where local crafts -- beads, carvings, kangas and paintings could be bought. We had fun bartering for a kanga and a hippo. I had some inside knowledge of pricing so we were able to negotiate good prices. I was teased by the Masai that I was now Kenyan given my bargaining and pricing knowledge. They tried to keep me away from the gals when they were negotiating on items. All in good fun - we had a good laugh.

We have a jam packed two weeks. On Friday we head to Nairobi, off to the Mara and Nakuru to get a taste of the game parks - finishing the Chica Safari in Kisumu visiting some of the orphanages and slum areas I have been spending time in. You have heard me say that Africa is a land of contrasts. My hope is to show the chicas both sides!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



28th October 2006

envious note from vancouver
Sheila: love that fuschia bikini and the gleeful look on your face: have fun chicas
28th October 2006

Hi Cuz
Nice to see you have some familiar faces to hang with. I know you have met some new ones, but good friends are always nice to see. I enjoy your blogs, so keep them coming. The sights you are seeing inspire me, would sure love to be there. Keep it up Cuz, Rob.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb