Fish For Tea - Jambiani


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar
September 1st 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

JambianiJambianiJambiani

Sailing toy Ngalawa (outrigger boat) on Janbiani beach.
Jambiani is my favourite place on Zanzibar. It's on the East Coast a couple of miles south from Paje.
The tide goes out a long way here so you can't swim all the time.
When the tide is out, the local women harvest their sea-weed. They carry it back home and dry it. Then they take it to be weighed and get paid. It's shipped out to Manilla for the chemical industry. It's great that the women can earn their own money here.
The men go out fishing in their ngalawa (dugout outrigger boats) both outside and inside the coral reef.
After school the girls sift the sand for a few shellfish and the boys go out at low tide to find fish stranded in small pools and smack them with a stick.
They may not be able to afford rice but fish are free.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Beating SquidBeating Squid
Beating Squid

The squid gets a good pounding to tenderise it. It's a hard life being a squid.
RasakiRasaki
Rasaki

Rasaki shows me his dinner.
My LunchMy Lunch
My Lunch

I saw better looking fish.
My DinnerMy Dinner
My Dinner

Everyone had some fish to sell.
Jambiani SoleJambiani Sole
Jambiani Sole

A long way from Dover.
Mreh With KingfishMreh With Kingfish
Mreh With Kingfish

Mreh always got the best fish for my dinner.
My Best ClothesMy Best Clothes
My Best Clothes

The best dressed boy in Jambiani.
Salah With OctopusSalah With Octopus
Salah With Octopus

I tried to catch octopus on the reef but never managed to hold on to one.
Salah With A Variety Of FishSalah With A Variety Of Fish
Salah With A Variety Of Fish

Nice seafood salad coming up for lunch.
SandcrabSandcrab
Sandcrab

Not the best way to catch a crab.
StingrayStingray
Stingray

I nearly swam with this.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb