Wednesday, Sept 26--Sad News from Home


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We recieved very sad news from home in the last week. My mom, Helen, who has had lung cancer for the last year and a half took a turn for the worse last week. She had been diagnosed with pneumonia right before we left but when we visited her a week ago last Sunday she was being treated and seemed very strong. All three of us said our good byes thinking that we would see her when we returned at Christmas time. Since she had lung cancer we discussed the possibility of her dying while were away but she seemed so strong just a week and a half ago. She had just returned from a trip to Portland to celebrate the wedding of her granddaughter, Lisa. She was tired when she returned but seemed to have had a very good time.

I found out from my brother she was admitted to the hospital because she had gotten worse. Now she has been moved to a residential hospice called the Pillars in an eastern suburb of St Paul. She is declining. All of the news from home is somber and I hear that they don't think she will live much longer. Helen turned 82 in August. Please pray for her now and for my family. It is so hard to be so far away from home now. I can't just pick up the phone to get news and waiting for an email is creating a lot of anxiety. We know that she will have the best care. The Health East Hospice team has been so good to her this year. Fred, my dad; Bill, my brother; and Kathy and Peggy, my sisters will be with her. Please pray for them so that they can make decisions based in love and comfort.

I am very sad right now and at times conflicted in my decisions to be here in Tanzania. My prayers of strengh have been answered with the thought that my mother wanted to stay strong until we left so that we would not hesitate to leave. She supported our decision to leave on this ministry even though she was sad to say good bye. One of the nannies here has the name Helen. She is a grandmother as well. I will tell her about my mother when I see her next. We are comforted by ou caring friends and family. Please send us your good thoughts.--Tom

Advertisement



26th September 2007

Tom's mother Helen
Dear Tom, I have not met you. I met Anne at the clinic in June. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family during this difficult time. I will pray that you are comforted and that your mother will go to heaven peacefully. Thank God for the resurrection even in your grief. The Lord is with you. Go in peace. Elizabeth Skinner
26th September 2007

Just wanted to say Hi !
Tom and family, I am so sorry to hear about your mother. I also believe that she knows in her heart that you and your family said your good byes and although you are not there too hear the words I am sure your heart is telling you how much she loves all of you and has found peace with her last days. I hope your travels are going well and that this your trip has lead you too many friendly faces. Thank you for sharing your experiences with me, It sounds amazing. Take care ! Jen Mulligan
27th September 2007

Dear Tom, Gordon and I are sorry to hear of your mother's downturn. You are in our prayers.
28th September 2007

Your Mom
Tom, Anne and Olivia: Wow, what a lot of bad news! I know it is hard to stay there when your Mom is sick, but there's never a good time to go, quite frankly. You've done so much good already. Keep up the good work, and know that you all are in our thoughts and prayers. Deb and Kathleen.
10th October 2007

I will keep your family in my prayers
Tom, I am a co-worker of Anne's at NorthPoint. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. My father passed away last year at age 80 from lung cancer. (As everyone asks, no he wasn't a smoker). It is a tough battle, he beat the odds and lived for almost 4 years after the diagnosis. But when things started to turn sour, it went faster than I anticipated. Several family members were with him at the last. The chaplain came in and read a lesson. We all individually said our good-byes (he had been unresponsive for 12 hours but we said them anyway). The final person was a close friend of ours who finished her good-bye by saying "Just take the hand of Jesus." Amazingly it was at that moment that we noticed he stopped breathing. It was all a very moving experience and touched everyone who was there with a lot of grace. Our hope as Christians is in the Lord and the Lord will sustain us even in our deepest sorrow. May God grant comfort to you and your family. Brian J. Bergs Minneapolis, MN

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1163s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb