Tuesday Sept 25th--Feeding Time


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
September 25th 2007
Published: September 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

09252007-109252007-109252007-1

Cory and Anne at cuddle time
When we began this journey many of our friends called this an adventure but feeding thirty some babies and toddlers at the same time is an adventure in itself. Lunch time is crazy...the older toddlers come marching in and sit at a wooden table and a bowl is placed in front of them and they feed themselves. The younger toddlers are put in a row of high chairs and are feed one at a time by a nanny or volunteer. And the babies that are just starting solid food are put in a large table with holes cut and bucket seats. Surprizingly most of them don't scream and will wait but there are always as few and the pitch and volume is ear splitting. Each of us trying to feed one and get on to the next one so they can all be fed. They all get fed a vegetarian diet that consists mostly of rice, beans and vegtables. The little babies are all on formula. My favorite time of the day is afternoon bottle time. About 3pm the babies are all brought out and layed on a large mat under a tree. Monkeys will sometimes swing from the branches. Each
09252007-309252007-309252007-3

Baby circle time
of the babies get a bottle. The ones that can't hold one for themselves are held and fed. Sometimes you have to prop up the bottles because there are too many babies to feed at one time. Yesterday I had one baby in my arms and had a bottle propped up on my foot and another propped up on an elbow. I was feeding three babies at once. While they are taking their bottle they look at your face. It is such a calming feeling. I had forgotten how much I enjoyed that part of parenting.

I am learning to count in Swahili. I've gotten to 19 now and today at toddler class time I received a round of applause for getting all the way to ten on my own. They are learning English. My goal was to learn to count to 10 before the next market visit. Hope everyone is well and at peace at home. Tom


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

09252007-209252007-2
09252007-2

Violet says \"Good Morning\"


25th September 2007

Feeding Babies
Breathtaking words that bring the images to one's mind and precious unspeakably beautiful photos that stir one's heart. I am so blessed and privileged to know you Anne. Thank you for the words and photos Tom. I am so moved that you are feeding and gazing upon the faces of these tiny little ones. The photo of Anne with Cory is priceless. God bless you all. I hope Olivia is doing well. I sent an email to you today Anne. Love and hugs. Elizabeth
25th September 2007

Annie !!!! how wonderful, the babies are beautiful!!! The whole experience must be mind blowing!! Of all the people I know, you would be the one to believe in this and follow through...Please stay safe, and share the love, its so easy isn't it !!! love and hugs judy

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb